Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Registry Edits (Home Premium)

    Edit:

    I tried running regedit as Administrator, but that still didn't work. And I'm trying this on one key: HKEY_CLASSES_ROOTInternetShortcut, which is also showing me with Full Control.
    -----------------
    How come, if I am the owner of a registry key, I can't edit it?

    Says I don't have the rights.

    ?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    Attached Images Attached Images
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Registry Edits (Home Premium)

    Start, and in the search box, type "regedit". When you see "regedit.exe" displayed in the Programs results, right click on the file and select "Run as administrator". If you've already done this, then I have no idea what's wrong. This works for me every time.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Registry Edits (Home Premium)

    AND, when I go to that key and check permissions, it shows as "unable to edit", so I right-click on "Shell", and go to Permissions, and I'm not listed, so then I try to add myself with Control, and then I get an error that I am "unable to save Permission changes on Shell".

    ***********
    John:

    It didn't work... I had even logged in as Admin...

    I'm stumped...

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Registry Edits (Home Premium)

    Could be a Protected entry and you will not get it edited.
    What is this change going to do for you?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Registry Edits (Home Premium)

    Dave:

    Some time back Jefferson had constructed an registry entry to allow for browser selection "per shortcut" <post#=690095>post 690095</post#> .

    Initially I wanted to use same because I was using Firefox beta a lot but wanted to keep IE as me default.

    Now it's flip-flopped: I use FF as my default but there are sites that just "have" to have IE. There is a FF extension, IE as a Tab, that pretty much accounts for this, but not always.

    This entry set up a context menu entry(s) that would put either Open with IE or Open with FF in the context menu, so you could choose it dynamically.

    I worked splendidly.

    I went back to Jefferson asking if there was (going to be) a Vista update. He said that he didn't use Vista, so, not at this time, sorry.

    The crux of the entry looked like it should work, so I backed up my registry and went to try it.

    Now here we are.

    The entry, for opening in IE, is as follows:

    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOTInternetShortcutshellOpenSCinIE_w ith_BAT]
    @="Open in &IE"

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOTInternetShortcutshellOpenSCinIE_w ith_BATcommand]
    @=""c:winappscomminternetutilsopenSCinIEOpenSCinIE .bat" """

    and it calls a batch file, a separate "piece" of the puzzle.

    Again, this worked fine in XP.

    I show as having ownership to all hives in the Registry, so why doesn't it work?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Registry Edits (Home Premium)

    I do NOT know much about the Vista Registry, but I do know that Microsoft made it MUCH harder to make changes to protect the OS and the supporting software. There are some areas that MS does NOT want anyone in and messing with things.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Registry Edits (Home Premium)

    Dave:

    More often than not I wish *I* didn't have dealings with the Vista registry. But then...

    The part of this thing that fries me is that I *know* that I was able to do it at one point, but among my faults is poor note taking.

    There's something else going on here.

    There's entries all over the web about people having problems with the registry, and multitudes of ways to get around the problem.

    There was no gain in MS making it so tough to get into the registry. It just serves to aggravate users. They still poke around in the registry, and the best defense is still just to back it up.

    What they could have done is a forced backup at each edit...just like a text file. Then, us children who need all this supervision would be protected.

    They way they (seemingly) did it does nothing but aggravate.

    Well, thanks anyway dave.

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Registry Edits (Home Premium)

    Who is the owner of the key in question? You may have to take ownership to change the permissions.

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Registry Edits (Home Premium)

    Joe:

    I found on the internet several discussions about this very topic.

    In one, I found it said that ownership alone wouldn't do it, but that it had to be one of the Trusted Installers.

    Now this was entirely new to me, but... (yes, I backed up my registry)

    I THINK that I right-clicked the Trusted Installers, and in the Permissions was able to add myself with Full Control...

    Now, when I double-click a reg entry, it DOES get entered -- seemingly.

    But, for instance, using the one mentioned earlier:

    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOTInternetShortcutshellOpenSCinFx_w ith_BAT]
    @="Open in &Firefox"

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOTInternetShortcutshellOpenSCinFx_w ith_BATcommand]
    @=""c:winappscomminternetutilsopenSCinFXOpenSCinFx .bat" """

    the entry, as said, seemed to get entered.

    But it doesn't show up in the context menu.

    So I don't know what now...

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Registry Edits (Home Premium)

    Does it show up if you hold down the shift key while accessing the context menu? Have you tried the <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> bartdart.com -- context menu editor?

    Joe
    Joe

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Registry Edits (Home Premium)

    Joe:

    No, it doesn't show via the shift key.

    It still is in the registry after re-booting though.

    The context menu editor doesn't show "For Vista"

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Registry Edits (Home Premium)

    "There was no gain in MS making it so tough to get into the registry."

    How do you know that? Malware doesn't exactly post on the Net and say "Gosh, it's so hard to do these changes nowadays", but some people/users do. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    "There's something else going on here." Correct. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    When you mentioned TrustedInstaller I thought of the ones who are allowed to change certain files protected by Windows File Protection (WFP) in Windows XP and 2k. So it could maybe be good to mention that in this context.

    The idea behind WFP was to protect core system files from being replaced or deleted; only certain Trusted Installers had that possibility. Trusted Installer included the Package Installer [Update.exe], Windows Installer etc. WFP relied on digital signatures and checked against some catRoot catalog.

    In Windows Vista WFP is replaced by the Windows Resource Protection (WRP). The name indicates, at least to me, an extended mandate. It protects files with ACLs (access control list), but it also protects some keys & values in the registry.

    And only processes that use the Windows Modules Installer service are allowed to have full access to the resources protected by WRP.

    I wouldn't mess with which number of resources only the Windows Modules Installer service (aka TrustedInstaller) has access to, since it is part of the protection of the OS. But as you may have seen on the Net there are people discussing how this can be done. Being an admin is not enough, as we know; it has been mentioned several times already.

    It's fun to read some of the posts at the MSDN forums; many just want the access to go cleaning. Other seems to write some application but must lack some knowledge in win32 coding since they have to use unorthodox methods.

    In some MSDN thread someone wrote: "Microsoft should give a way to view and delete the installed but unplugged hardwares." which somehow sums it: as we know it's possible to use the Device Manager to remove those entries, but people go for a hunt in the registry.

    Heh, in XP there is a "hack" to use the Command Prompt to start an application running on the SYSTEM account, such as another Command Prompt with System access, or for that matter the Registry Editor. I haven't checked (had the need to tweak the reg) to see if running Registry Editor on the System account can edit/delete keys/values that are protected. It most probably can. In Vista it might be slightly different to start an app. on the System account. There also seems to be another way using some Sysinternal tool.

    But as Joe mentioned, for such a, as it seems, trivial thing to add to the context menu in Vista, perhaps there are editors out there or other tricks documented. To remove the ownership from TrustedInstaller and give it to someone else, on the other hand, is perhaps not so good ...

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Registry Edits (Home Premium)

    I read that Context Menu Editor works on Vista BUT I don't use it. So, I can't say one way or the other. windows vista context menu editor - Live Search has other links to track down if you want a program to try.

    Joe
    Joe

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Registry Edits (Home Premium)

    I'll give 'em a shot, thanks Joe.

    It's strange because usually context menu editors are for removing or hiding items... I'd just like to *see* my item!

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Registry Edits (Home Premium)

    Argus:

    You're right on several counts. I also am more than willing to acknowledge my 1) lack of experience and 2) my propensity to cause my own issues a lot of the time.

    As always, however, there's a "but", so, but:

    There's been a great deal of discussion ever since it's implementation about the registry, and for that matter, any type of "protection" that Microsoft has implemented to protect the user from them self.

    I think that maybe a "forced backup" provision at semi-regular intervals would have been a great deal more helpful and, um, protective. No matter what type of restriction MS puts on their systems, people still need backups. Wonder why? No matter how many blockages MS invents for accessing the system, it can fail all on it's own. How's that happen?

    Are there crummy programmers out there? Sure. Some malicious, some careless, and some just not knowing what the hell they are doing.

    And there's also (quite a few) people like me that just like to tinker. Maybe just fro the fun of it, maybe for the learning experience, maybe in trying to fix something that is wrong, maybe to fix something that isn't. But no question we are out there.

    Protecting one or a select few files from being "touched" only would be valid if it extended to all the other elements that the hardware, O/S, and accompanying software relies on. For otherwise, sh-- is going to happen anywho.

    Now, I understand (not all certainly of) the logic behind the implementation of the registry. And for most people, it's fairly transparent. But again, without stricter rules of adherence, what's the point?

    In my own limited experience, I have had software that used the registry for settings storage, didn't use it at all using ini's instead, used both, and then there are the programs that give you the choice of whichever.

    Now, if everyone used only Microsoft-approved software and hardware, then all would be well in the world... No wait, Microsoft has to patch and replace their OWN software and hardware, so that won't work either.

    Then everyone should read THE BOOK.

    What book might that be that would answer all the questions -- correctly and be up-to-date?

    All I wanted to do, and still do want to do, is be able to easily use two browsers, and be able to select which on an ad-hoc basis. I don't think that that is overly ambitious, or uncalled for, or even something inexplicable.

    Now I'm sure that Microsoft would have been happier if items like Firefox had never hit the big-time, but oh well. They I do, and still do things before Microsoft's IE, even to the point of doing things that IE just doesn't. Could IE? Sure. But again, oh well.

    What I was trying to do could be done easily two or three versions ago. Now it's a problem,. That's OK, problems are no more than opportunities to achieve they say.

    All I'm looking for here is a (safe) way alter the context menu. If there is no way to do context menu editing of this type, then that is to me an area that is waiting for the solution.

    My guess is that I am hardly the first person to want to do something like this, and one or more of these others have the talents that I lack to get the job done.

    All I need to do is find them/it.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •