Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    San Diego, California, USA
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Is DAO part of Windows? (xp pro sp2)

    I tried to make a music disc and a message came up saying that DAO was being used by another program. I don't know what program is using DAO. Is this something that I can uninstall/reinstall? Add/Delete programs only gives me the option of Deleting DAO.

    Don't want to Delete something I can't re install.

    Kevin

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Is DAO part of Windows? (xp pro sp2)

    What software were you using to burn the disk ?? DAO shouldn't be involved in burning a music CD.

    From Wikipedia...... "using data access objects is the relatively simple and rigorous separation between two important parts of an application which can and should know almost nothing of each other, and which can be expected to evolve frequently and independently. Changing business logic can rely on the same DAO interface, while changes to persistence logic do not affect DAO clients as long as the interface remains correctly implemented."
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    San Diego, California, USA
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Is DAO part of Windows? (xp pro sp2)

    I was using Roxio Easy Media Creator 9

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Is DAO part of Windows? (xp pro sp2)

    My first thought would be to try it again and if the error persisted, contact Roxio support or go to the Roxio Forum. As I said, DAO shouldn't come into play in burning a music CD in an application like Roxio, so I can't imagine what would be causing the error.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    San Diego, California, USA
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Is DAO part of Windows? (xp pro sp2)

    Doc,
    Does DAO belong in CocumentsKevinLocalsTempis 50 ?

    Kevin

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Is DAO part of Windows? (xp pro sp2)

    The DAO that Doc Watson mentioned is certainly *not* located in a folder in Temp, it's installed in a subfolder of Program Files.

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    San Diego, California, USA
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Is DAO part of Windows? (xp pro sp2)

    Hans,
    Thanks. Something is wrong...as usuall.

    Run Roxio, 1st box-Window Installer configuring DAO. 2nd box-Error 1706-No valid source could be found for product DAO. Window installer can't continue. 3rd box-The feature you are trying to use is on a network resource that is unavailable. Click on ok to try again or enter an alternate path to a folder containing the installation package DAO msi in the box below. COCUMENT KEVINLocalsTempis 50
    All of this nonsense will repeat itself 3 times and then Roxio comes up.

    This has happened on some other programs also. I don't recall which one's right now. I have to go to Knowledge Base and look up Error 1706.

    I know it is related to my ATI program somehow.

    Thanks again,
    Kevin

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Is DAO part of Windows? (xp pro sp2)

    Apparently there is a problem with Roxio and the DAO version installed by ATI. See the reply by Bill Drake in I'm in "DAO Hell" -- Please Help

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Is DAO part of Windows? (xp pro sp2)

    I'm not familiar with Roxio's software (I use Nero), so I'm not sure if you have the option of different burning modes. If you have the option to burn using Track-at-Once mode rather than Disk-at-Once that might get you past this problem, and allow you to burn music CDs. I'm pretty sure you will still need to resolve the problem to burn data disks using DAO.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  10. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    San Diego, California, USA
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Is DAO part of Windows? (xp pro sp2)

    Hans and Doc,
    Thanks for the article. It describes my situation perfectly. I contacted ATI directly and they sent me the scrubber program finally. It did remove ATI I think but they didn't acknowledge any problem with DAO on their part. The scrubber only works once and sends all the info back to ATI and Microsoft!! Then the scrubber reinstalls ATI.

    It doesn't matter what you delete in Add/Remove programs, DAO is still attached to some hidden remnant of ATI. It's a cancer that cannot be removed.

    DAO is listed twice in Add/Remove programs.

    ATI still shows up as my display driver. I don't know why.

    Kevin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •