Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Central Florida, USA
    Posts
    505
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Access 2k Report Incompatible in 2003 (Access 2k to 2003 )

    I am at wits end and no closer to a solution. I have a report, actually a couple of reports that were developed in Access 2000. They run fine in both Access 2k and Access 2003 SP3. However, any attempt to edit the report(s) in Access 2003 results in an immediate crash when trying to save or run the report after opening in design view. (see attached for error message).

    I have checked the references and there does not "appear" to be a problem. (See below)
    A2k
    Visual Basic For Applications
    Microsoft Access 9.0 Object Library
    Microsoft DAO 3.6 Object Library
    OLE Automation
    Microsoft Visual BAsic for Applications Extensibility 5.3

    A2003
    Visual Basic For Applications
    Microsoft Access 11.0 Object Library
    Microsoft DAO 3.6 Object Library
    OLE Automation
    Microsoft Visual BAsic for Applications Extensibility 5.3

    I have created a new database in 2003 and tried importing the report with the same disasterous results. I then tried creating a new database in Access 2000, imported the report, with success, but when editing the new Access 2k version in Access 2003 it again crashes. Is there any place else I should look?

    Thanks in advance for your ideas.

    Ken
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Access 2k Report Incompatible in 2003 (Access 2k to 2003 )

    If you wish, you can attach a stripped down and zipped copy of the database, but there's no guarantee that Loungers can do anything with it.
    Do you have backups of the database that don't make Access 2003 crash?
    How much work would it be to reconstruct the report from scratch?

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Central Florida, USA
    Posts
    505
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access 2k Report Incompatible in 2003 (Access 2k to 2003 )

    Hans,

    Thanks, I can strip down a version later on today.

    RE:How much work would it be to reconstruct the report from scratch?
    It is pretty substantial, but I could probably do it by copying and pasting in a hour. Redoing entirely from scratch considering the layout and alignment of several objects would take much longer. AND there is more than one report that have the same problem. I thought it might be something that others had experienced, or maybe even a known universal problem.

    I may try the recreating approach using copy and pasting the controls into the variouis sections of a blank report to see if that will work.

    Would the information in the report sent to Microsoft provide any useful information?

    THANKS!

    Ken

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Access 2k Report Incompatible in 2003 (Access 2k to 2003 )

    > Would the information in the report sent to Microsoft provide any useful information?

    No, not to mere mortals outside Microsoft.

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Central Florida, USA
    Posts
    505
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access 2k Report Incompatible in 2003 (Access 2k to 2003 )

    Hans,
    > No, not to mere mortals outside Microsoft.

    LOL. However, by recreating the report section by section and adding individual controls within the headings and details section I FOUND THE PROBLEM! ! !

    In the offending report, there are 43 controls within the details section. ALL are text fields, or so I thought. There were two controls that for some reason were "combo box"es. ????? Why would you put a combo box in a report?

    At any rate, changing the comboboxes to text boxes all is sweet in the universe again. (Except I can't fingure out why Access 2k allowed them to get away with it.

    THANKS for all your help and ideas.

    Ken

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger SteveH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Chelsea, Gtr London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    587
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access 2k Report Incompatible in 2003 (Access 2k to 2003 )

    I have been working with something built in Access 2000 at home and using Access 2003 at work.
    There was one time when a combo box on a form had an incorrect Rowsource. In A2K the form loaded and showed a blank combo. In A2K3 it crashed and burned. I think A2K3 is much more sensitive to these things. (That's why I still use A2000!)
    BTW Access 2007 coped with it OK <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    Steve H
    IT Lecturer/Access Developer
    O2K SR3/O2010; Win7Pro

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts

    Re: Access 2k Report Incompatible in 2003 (Access 2k to 2003 )

    Have you tried decompiling the database? Often this will cure any problems that cause the "I've got to close Access" error message to appear.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Central Florida, USA
    Posts
    505
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access 2k Report Incompatible in 2003 (Access 2k to 2003 )

    Mark,

    Thanks for responding. Yes, I did try decompiling (several times) with the same results. I have had success eliminating similar compatibility issues in the past using that approach. However, this one just would not go away. Once I changed the controls on the report from combo box to text box, the problem went away.

    Why would you have a combo box on a report? It is not like you can select the items in the combo box. To me, that one defies logic. Is there EVER a time when a combo box would belong on a report?

    Thanks again!

    Ken

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Central Florida, USA
    Posts
    505
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access 2k Report Incompatible in 2003 (Access 2k to 2003 )

    Steve,

    I think you are right about A2k version being more robust/forgiving. However, in this case I think a combo box control on the report was a bad move, regardless of the version.

    As far as Access 2007, the user interface is so far removed from all previous versions of Access that unless and until there are features available in 2007 that I must have I am going to stay away from it as long as possible. LOL

    Thanks for response.

    Ken

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Access 2k Report Incompatible in 2003 (Access 2k to 2003 )

    You can use a combo box to look up a value in a table that is not part of the record source of the report
    (For example, the record source of the report could contain a number field CompanyID; the corresponding name is stored in another table tblCompanies. A combo box bound to CompanyID with tblCompanies as Row Source can display the company name by setting Column Count = 2 and Column Widths = 0",1")
    There are other ways to do this, for example by using DLookup or by adding the table to the record source - it won't matter if this makes the record source not updateable, unlike for a form - but a combo box is a relatively easy way to do this. Access is smart enough not to display the dropdown arrow in preview and in the printed output.

  11. #11
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts

    Re: Access 2k Report Incompatible in 2003 (Access 2k to 2003 )

    As Hans mentioned, you can use a combobox on a report to effectively lookup a value based on a field in the table/query behind the report. It is especially useful when the value of the field could be Null, in which case if you linked to this lookup table in your query, you'd need to make sure you used an Outer Join (which can get confusing).
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Central Florida, USA
    Posts
    505
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access 2k Report Incompatible in 2003 (Access 2k to 2003 )

    Hans,

    Thanks! WOW. I had never thought about using a combo box in such a way. That opens a lot of opportunities. I need to play with that.

    Thank you again for sharing your knowledge.

    Ken

  13. #13
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Central Florida, USA
    Posts
    505
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access 2k Report Incompatible in 2003 (Access 2k to 2003 )

    Mark,

    THANK YOU! Although I am not 100% sure why it worked in A2K and not in A03, what you you and Hans described looks very kewl and has a lot of potential. I really appreciate guys like you and Hans sharing your wealth of knowledge.

    Ken

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •