Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts

    New Hard Disc (Vista Home Premium)

    Hello, and greetings from the great free state of Tennessee:
    After installing "acronis 11 v 8101" (disc image software) my backup is too large (40GB) for me to do on removable dvd's (@4.35GB per disc) My C: drive is a Hitachi (372.61GB) unit HDT725040VLA SCSI (small computer system interface) My question is, that in the "big Box " stores they don't seem to stock that type (SCSI) . I only know that i do not have a parallel input connector on my hard disc, but have only two small connectors. Anyone have information on what type of hard disc that i should use (have an extra slot (internal) of my HP pavilion) for another disc. Should i stick with Hitachi (If i can get one) or does it really not matter? Regards Plain Fred.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  2. #2
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New Hard Disc (Vista Home Premium)

    I use an external 3.5" 500GB SATA II hard drive connected to a USB slot on my laptop computer for my complete image backup with Acronis TI Home. The HDD is in a Lemel External 3.5" Drive Enclosure with a USB 2.0 interface.

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: New Hard Disc (Vista Home Premium)

    Fred,
    1. Are you sure about that model number?
    A search on HITACHI didn't turn up any results for that model number hard drive.

    2.How old is this machine? SCSI is a rather old and outdated drive type ( particularly for home use, not
    server )

    3. Depending on you machine setup, either IDE or SATA are the more current types, probably IDE, if it is not
    a fairly new model.

    4. Go to HP and search out your exact model and it should tell you what type to look
    for.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: New Hard Disc (Vista Home Premium)

    > i do not have a parallel input connector on my hard disc, but have only two small connectors

    That is almost certainly SATA. Both IDE and SCSI use much larger parallel connectors.

    A google search for HDT725040VLA confirms that this is a SATA drive.

    StuartR

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: New Hard Disc (Vista Home Premium)

    I'm in John Williams' camp on this one. Given today's prices, if you've got one or more USB ports you can use, for ease of connectivity I'd go with an external hard drive for backing up. You can get BIG ones for small buck$. Just one example: External USB 2.0 Hard Drive

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: New Hard Disc (Vista Home Premium)

    I use the USB external drives all the time.
    Fry's just had a Seagate FreeAgent GO 250 Gigs for $89.00 US.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: New Hard Disc (Vista Home Premium)

    Yet a search for this device found this info. Not from HP or Hitachi.
    A SCSI device with an IDE interface.
    -----------------------------------------------------
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: New Hard Disc (Vista Home Premium)

    You may be right,

    This very tastefully coloured web page shows the detailed configuration of an HP Pavillion PC including
    <code>Hitachi HDT725040VLA SCSI Disk Device (400.09 GB) -- drive 0 894 Megabytes Installed Memory</code>

    But this page shows a Jaguar computer with
    <code>400gb SATA HDD
    [HDT725040VLA]</code>

    StuartR

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts

    Re: New Hard Disc (Vista Home Premium)

    Hello,Bob et-al,
    Thank ya-all for responding. Upon further investigation (with magnifying glass) the Hitachi PN is "oa33664" May 2007 DiskStar 7200Rpm 400GB SATA 3.0 GB/s. My operating system "PC-Doctor" gave me the information on the disk drive, don't know why it said that it was a "SCSI" When the label says "SATA" If i can get the "Hitachi" unit as StuartR's link provides, or go with the "big box store brand" SATA? REgards Plain Fred.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: New Hard Disc (Vista Home Premium)

    Fred,
    Now that you seem to have cleared up the disk type as being SATA, I don't think you have to stick to a brand. Do some shopping around for the best buy on SATA drives and go for that one. Western Digital, Seagate, Maxtor, Hitachi or any other brand would do.

    Lots of good sources for buys on hardware. One of my favorites is NEWEGG
    or DIRECTRON but there are MANY other good ones around. <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>
    Good Luck!
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  11. #11
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts

    Re: New Hard Disc (Vista Home Premium)

    Bob,
    Just wanted to update. I contacted HP and talked to a "sales rep" are ya sitting down? A new Hitachi drive costs $338.00 plus shipping!
    Guess it's like trying to get parts from the local new car dealer's "parts department" (full list price) Thanks everyone for all the "links"and info. I'll post back when this episode of my "computer saga" has more information. Regards Fred.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: New Hard Disc (Vista Home Premium)

    Fred,
    That sure sounds like a total ripoff to me. What is so unique about this HP system? It isn't a laptop is it? Does it have different mountings or plug arrangements?

    I would try to check with one of the major HD manufacturers ( like Western Digital ) and give them your HP make and model number and see if they can advise you about compatibility.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  13. #13
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts

    Re: New Hard Disc (Vista Home Premium)

    Bob, Hello
    Your correct "Rip off" indeed! I used the "Directron" link and found a Hitachi Deskstar P7K500 500GB 3.5" 7200rpm SATA 3.0Gb/s for $72.00+ shipping, in the same series as my standard HP desk top. I'll post back and let everyone (who's interested) know how it went, (after the install) Regards plain Fred.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  14. #14
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts

    Re: New Hard Disc (Vista Home Premium)

    Bob,et-al
    Hello, just wanted to update. I received the "hitachi 500 Gb Sata" hard drive from "Directron". After reviewing "HP's" website how to install a new hard drive video (for my PC pavillion desk top) the installation went without any problems.The Acronis true image v11 has an install "new hard drive set up wizard" , That went well also. I then was able to perform (on the new hard drive) a "full image backup" with out any errors or problems. Thanks to everyone who responded to my questions, and for your advice. Regards Plain Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: New Hard Disc (Vista Home Premium)

    That's great, Fred.
    Sure beats HP solution!
    Happy computing!
    <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20> <img src=/S/bravo.gif border=0 alt=bravo width=16 height=30>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •