Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Access and SQL Server (XP/Office'03/SServer'05)

    I have built an application that uses an Access Project front end against a SQL Server backend. I shipped it to a client. They installed the project onto a client machine that did not have SQL Server software installed and when they try to run it they get are prompted for missing libraries "sqldmo object library". Do they need SQL Server Express on their computer or is there an easier way?

    Thanks.

    Graeme.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Access and SQL Server (XP/Office'03/SServer'05)

    Did you set a reference to this library in your Access frontend? If so, I'd remove it - it shouldn't be necessary.
    And no, people shouldn't need to install SQL Server in order to use an Access frontend to SQL Server.

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access and SQL Server (XP/Office'03/SServer'05)

    Thanks for this Hans. I tried this but I have declared the server as Dim oServer As SQLDMO.SQLServer so I get a compile error. Should I be declaring the server differently?

    Many thanks (again!!).

    Graeme.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Access and SQL Server (XP/Office'03/SServer'05)

    I don't use Access as a frontend to SQL Server so I'm probably not the right person to help you with this, but why do you need code like that? Doesn't the frontend use tables linked to SQL Server?

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access and SQL Server (XP/Office'03/SServer'05)

    It does but I use quite a lot of VBA code to do things so I have to connect to the DB. Thanks for your suggestion. I will see if there is another way I can connect. I'll let you know if I find something.

    Cheers.

    Graeme.

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Brookings, South Dakota, USA
    Posts
    449
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access and SQL Server (XP/Office'03/SServer'05)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by gdrezek on 16-Jul-08 15:48. corrected spelling and added "added:")</P>Hi Graeme,
    Are you using Access to get SQL Server Data - not data found in tables/fields but about SQL Server itself? That would be the only reason you need the DMO (Distributed Management Objects) library referenced. If you are not using it to return information about the structure of the server/database/tables then as Hans has suggested you should just remove the reference to it. In order to connect to the database and return tabular data you can use the ADO library. If you do need to use the DMO library, you can get it through the SQL Server installation disks by installing the Work Station components on the client machine(s).

    added: you can also use ODBC to connect to an Access database
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/gdrezek_sig.jpg>
    "Those who dance are considered insane by those who can't hear the music" - George Carlin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •