Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Search address bar with autotext (Firefox 2/IE7)

    Hello -

    Is it possible in a browser’s Search bar to have something like an autotext entry?

    I very often enter "NYT review" as part of a search & was wondering if this could be automated. Thank you.

    Curious

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Search address bar with autotext (Firefox 2/IE

    Do you want to go to that site? You can add keywords to bookmarks. This article should work for Firefox 2: Hack Attack: Firefox and the art of keyword bookmarking. Due to the changes to bookmarks in Firefox 3, the approach might be different.

    If you want to add it to a search, you might be able to create a customized search engine plugin. Not sure how complicated that would be...

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    730
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search address bar with autotext (Firefox 2/IE

    You could also set up a TweakUI Search Prefix with your "autotext". The *post, <!post=Super Search Tip! Windows XP (all) with TweakUI,325132>Super Search Tip! Windows XP (all) with TweakUI<!/post>, shows how. The "Use Google to search the KB" example looks like a direct fit to your needs.

    In addition to most of the standard searches shown, I often add search prefixes for document control systems and similar corporate information sources for each of the client sites I'm working at. It can save what feels like hours on the more cumbersome searches.
    <font face="Comic Sans MS" color="blue">TimOz</font>
    <img src=/S/flags/Finland.gif border=0 alt=Finland width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Australia.gif border=0 alt=Australia width=30 height=18>

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Search address bar with autotext (Firefox 2/IE

    Thank you, Tim and Jefferson. I now have my homework du jour....

    Curious

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Search address bar with autotext (Firefox 2/IE

    I looked at the suggested sites and don't think they quite fill my bill.

    What I am trying to do is search for a movie title and get the New York Times' review.
    Say you guys created a film entitled Lizard. I would like to enter Lizard and after the title automatically appended would be NYT movie review in search bar and, after hitting Enter, voila, the [rave] review would appear in, say, Google.

    Curious

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Search address bar with autotext (Firefox 2/IE

    The Windows Live Toolbar - Overview & MSN Toolbar - Overview keep a history of searches. They will filter past search terms based on what you type. You can select a term at any time. Both are <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15>. If this isn't what you want to do & you are running Vista look at Start ++ - BrandonTools.

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Search address bar with autotext (Firefox 2/IE

    Thanks much. Shall investigate your suggestions. Appreciate your posting.

    Curious

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Dundee, Scotland
    Posts
    404
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search address bar with autotext (Firefox 2/IE7)

    If you want to use firefox, rename the attached file to NYT.XML and put it into a folder in your profile called searchplugins (you might need to create this folder yourself). It adds a "search movies.nytimes.com" option to the drop down search boxes in Firefox 3 (not tested in anything lower... I'm an Opera man myself... :-) )

    HTH
    Attached Files Attached Files
    John (Unreconstructed Jacobite)

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Search address bar with autotext (Firefox 2/IE

    Wow! Thank you so much.

    (Yes, it works in Fx 2.)

    Curious

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search address bar with autotext (Firefox 2/IE7)

    So that's how it's done... brilliant! I assume the long character string is the Times logo. How did you go about creating/acquiring it?

    Cheers,
    Regards,
    PaulB

  11. #11
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Dundee, Scotland
    Posts
    404
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search address bar with autotext (Firefox 2/IE7)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by jonWallace on 24-Jul-08 10:04. edited because the lounge stripped off the percent2F bits)</P>Getting the icon string was probably the hardest bit, what with me being slow on the uptake with what I was seeing. But...

    I retrieved the favicon for NYT from my Opera image cache (I did say I was an Opera man)
    Then I went to the URI kitchen (found by Google) and browsed to where I'd retrieved my icon to. (that's a terrible sentence -- sorry)
    Tick the base64 box at the top and hit Generate.

    Confusingly, this gives a blank webpage with the NYT icon sitting forlornly in the middle. BUT the info in the address bar is what you want. I copy/pasted that into the xml (i think the htmly bits are probably superfluous, but I was fed up by that time <img src=/S/groan.gif border=0 alt=groan width=16 height=15> )
    John (Unreconstructed Jacobite)

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search address bar with autotext (Firefox 2/IE7)

    Thanks, John. Terrible sentence or not, I was able to follow your directions and generate the code for the Lounge's favicon. Your information is now securely stored away for future use.

    Cheers,
    Regards,
    PaulB

  13. #13
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Search address bar with autotext (Firefox 2/IE7)

    Hello, again --

    I now have Firefox 3.0.5 and NYT Reviews does not appear as a choice in the drop down box.

    I put the file NYT.XML in Cocuments and Settings[name]Application DataMozillaFirefoxProfilesSearchplugins & rebooted. Unfortunately, it doesn't appear in the list Is this me (most likely), or could it be Firefox 3, do you think?

    Many thanks, Curious

  14. #14
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Search address bar with autotext (Fx3 / IE7)

    The format may well have changed. You can check this site for a large repository of search plugins: http://mycroft.mozdev.org/

  15. #15
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Search address bar with autotext (Fx3 / IE7)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by curious on 21-Dec-08 13:46. I went back to the site and did find the Times there, but it wasn't specific to movie reviews. Can it be edited?

    thanks again, Curious
    )</P>Morning -

    Thanks much for your reply.
    Unfortunately, I do not find NYTimes there. I again followed Jon's instructions (Post: 723,126), rebooted. Again, no Times listing....

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •