Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    220
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Changin hubs & adding computer

    I have a 5-year old Dell desktop running XP as the hub of a wireless home network. I am using Verzion's router plugged into this PC and have a Mac laptop in another room.

    I plan to buy a new Dell desktop and make it the hub. The original pc will be moved to another room and become another pc. I don't have room for a wireless card and was planning to buy a "Wireless USB" to pick up the signal from the new hub.

    Question 1. The new pc will run Vista. What do I have to do to make it the hub?

    Question 2. Can you recommend an inexpensive wireless USB?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Changin hubs & adding computer

    1.) In a home network, the router usually provides the network access point. I'm not sure what you mean by 'wireless hub'. You should check with Verizon to make sure the router will work with Vista.

    2.) What wireless speed do you have? You can look at Pricewatch - wireless usb Networking for a wide range of wireless adapters. I'd go with a more well known brand such as Linksys, Netgear, D Link, 3COM, etc.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    220
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Changin hubs & adding computer

    Thanks Joe.

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    299
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Changin hubs & adding computer

    Okay, here goes. I've been trying to get wireless in my house and my isp (who I can't name here) said they would charge me $99.00 for the "box" and then a small fee every month to go wireless. I don't get it. Why can't I just buy a wireless hub, link it to the p.c. that's connected to the current land-line box, and go on my merry way?
    Carpy Diem, it's .

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Changin hubs & adding computer

    1.) Do you have a broadband connection?
    2.) Do you have more than one PC?
    3.) Do you have a wireless NIC already?

    Your ISP is going to charge you monthly for renting equipment. It is easy to get a wireless NIC & router. Check Pricewatch - Networking for prices. I'd recommend getting a "N" wireless setup. The "N" hardware is a bit more expensive but the speed difference and signal strength can be dramatic.

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    299
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Changin hubs & adding computer

    1) no, sadly, I have cable. Right now, there's a box that plugs into the p.c. with a phone jack.
    2) yes
    3) the laptop is wireless, the p.c. is supposed to have a NIC card, but darn if I can figure out where they(old IT sysadmin) put it. I know, I can find a picture of a typical one and "pop the hood." Garbette installed a wireless something on the p.c. for Nintendo and that works, so I know there's something there, right?
    Carpy Diem, it's .

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Changin hubs & adding computer

    For data communications broadband is a generic term meaning not dialup. So, if your cable company is your ISP most likely you have broadband. The box that plugs into the PC is probably using an Ethernet connection not a phone jack - they look similar but the Ethernet connector is larger and more rectangular. The PC must have a NIC already if it connects to the Internet.

    1.) Does the notebook already connect to the internet wirelessly in the house?
    2.) Can you identify the 'box that plugs into the pc'?

    Joe
    Joe

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    299
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Changin hubs & adding computer

    Joe,

    Thanks so much for your advice. Here goes....

    I know it's an ethernet, sorry - sleep deprivation due to oncall status this week.

    The notebook can connect to the internet wirelessly in the house; however, Garbette has been admonished to not hack into other neighbor's unprotected connections. We go over to a local coffee place that has free wireless when she wants to do anything on the internet.

    The box I have came from the cable company. As I can recall, the cable plugs in with a coax cable ( <img src=/S/flee.gif border=0 alt=flee width=25 height=25> ) that's coming from the worst example of we-don't-know-what-we're-doing-so-let's-just-wrap-the-cable-around-the-outside-of-the-house I have seen since my IT hunt down the cable days in California. It's also plugged into an outlet for its power. I think it's an RCA but it belongs to the cable company. Since we live out on the prairie, that's about all we can get without getting two extra jobs for a T-1 line. But that's another long, sad, story. Anyway, the box is sort of like a switch where you can turn on the internet or turn it off. It's supposed to have a firewall built in, but, as you can probably guess, it, um, doesn't work as advertised. Pretty rudimentary. I don't know what they'd do to change it if we go wireless with them.
    Carpy Diem, it&#39;s .

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Changin hubs & adding computer

    Check out some devices at the Pricewatch link in <post#=731,300>post 731,300</post#>. Routers are very easy to install. Most come with a poster and CD that make setup real easy. If you have questions about specific devices post back.

    Joe
    Joe

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    299
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Changin hubs & adding computer

    Joe,

    Yay! You made one teenager really happy and have brought peace to our home. We bought the Wireless "N" router, and followed the directions. Now Garbette is running through the house with her laptop and testing out the connection, with our tazmanian devil dog right behind her.

    Thank you so much!
    Carpy Diem, it&#39;s .

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Changin hubs & adding computer

    You're quite welcome. Glad it worked out.

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •