Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    633
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Program Menu Out of Control (MCE, Fully Patched)

    Suddenly I'm having problems with the Program menu. When I click on Start, then All Programs, I can get as far as the next "level" OK, but after that the mere passing of the cursor across an entry causes it to be selected. For instance, if I get to the Microsoft Office entry, then try to navigate to the Word entry, I don't make it: some other entry at that level starts firing up. Any suggestions as to how to fix this?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Program Menu Out of Control (MCE, Fully Patched)

    How do you navigate through the menu? Do you hold down the mouse button?

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    633
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Program Menu Out of Control (MCE, Fully Patched)

    HansV,

    >> How do you navigate through the menu? Do you hold down the mouse button? <<

    No, I click on a menu item, then move the cursor (without holding a button down) to the sub-menu.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Program Menu Out of Control (MCE, Fully Patched)

    Sorry, I can't explain the behavior that you describe.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Program Menu Out of Control (MCE, Fully Patched)

    That seems as though a key might be stuck. Try 'playing' with the keyboard. Have you treid a re-boot?

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Program Menu Out of Control (MCE, Fully Patched)

    Check your Taskbar & StartMenu Properties (right click on the Start button)>Customize Start Menu>Advanced tab to see if the option to "Open submenus when I pause on them with my mouse" is ticked.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Program Menu Out of Control (MCE, Fully Patched)

    I always tick that option - it makes submenus fly out without clicking on them, but it doesn't start any option automatically.

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Program Menu Out of Control (MCE, Fully Patched)

    I figured it might be an anomaly or a glitch and was working with the theory that if you change something and then change it back it works correctly again.

    I, on the other hand, hate that "feature" and turn it off on every system I set up. Chocolate and vanilla issue I suppose. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Program Menu Out of Control (MCE, Fully Patched)

    I like chocolate, so I presume you prefer vanilla? <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Program Menu Out of Control (MCE, Fully Patched)

    Black Raspberry, actually. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Program Menu Out of Control (MCE, Fully Patched)

    Touché <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    633
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Program Menu Out of Control (MCE, Fully Patched)

    DocWatson,

    >> Check your Taskbar & StartMenu Properties (right click on the Start button)>Customize Start Menu>Advanced tab to see if the option to "Open submenus when I pause on them with my mouse" is ticked. <<

    It was ticked, but unticking it didn't stop the problem. I finally decided to use Explorer to move out anything in my Program menu for Microsoft Office that wasn't a shortcut to a program. I moved them to the All Users Program menu (no one else uses the PC). The remaining program shortcuts don't fire up unless I click on them.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •