Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Comodo Firewall Newbie

    I've been having a Vista adventure that has involved Zone Alarm and Firefox, but I won't refer you to those threads. I have just now installed the Comodo firewall product in my Vista OS and I'd like to have a verification that I'm understanding what's happening. I was expecting the "training" chores that I've been through with ZA but Comodo seems to be a little bit trained already and that's what I'd like another Comodo user to verify. The first thing that happened after installation is a couple of popups requesting approval for Avast and then SpywareBlaster to access the web. That's OK and I expected that would happen, so I gave my OK to both.

    What surprised me is that I next (after the required reboot) ran my MailWasher, Firefox and Thunderbird apps and didn't get ANY popups asking permission, so I was immediately wondering if "outbound monitoring" was functioning. As you can see in the attached screenshot it DOES appear that Comodo "noticed" those apps being run. So, it seems that Comodo operates on the premise that anything I execute is assumed to be OK and anything that executes without my intervention (like the Avast/SpywareBlaster example) requires my approval. Have I got the essence of it?

    If so, that should make the lengthy "pain" of a training time a lot less and I'll find out more as tonight wears on.

    BTW, in its initial spyware scan of my two drives, Comodo found three bad guys on my XP drive that both AdAware and Spybot did not report to me!
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Comodo Firewall Newbie

    Al,
    Are you sure that Comodo Firewall is Vista compatible?

    The last time I checked ( not too long ago ) it said that they were "working" on a Vista version, that would be out "soon".

    Supposedly, I was on their notify list to let me know when the Vista version was ready. Not have heard anything from them, I assumed it was still a work in progress?
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Comodo Firewall Newbie

    Note: the system requirements at Firewall 3.0 for Computer Security - Overview. Vista is now supported.

    Joe
    Joe

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Comodo Firewall Newbie

    Yeah Bob, first thing I checked! Here's a clip from their web page and the release notes for this version only mention fixing something in the Vista 64-bit arena. So, I didn't track how far back they added Vista.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Comodo Firewall Newbie

    Joe & AL,

    Ok for Vista, so it says.

    So much for their automatic notification. I'm DL it now and will give it a try. Thanks.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Comodo Firewall Newbie

    I've been using Comodo Firewall on Vista for some time, I disable their Defence+ option and initially had Comodo in training mode and Comodo quietly ran in the background with very little user interaction required. I now run it in safe mode and only occasionally get messages from Comodo.

    I am now waiting for Comodo Anti-Virus 3 which is due to be released on beta very soon. It is planned to have a short beta period before going final.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Comodo Firewall Newbie

    I had ZA for a year recently and it offered both a "self-training" mode where it said it would learn to recognize your normal usage patterns and not ask annoying questions right away, and the "full paranoia" mode where it asks about everything. It may be that when you installed ZA the self-training feature did not exist or was not the default or that you disabled it. However, it does seem to be the way most software firewalls now start off. It is inherently less secure to assume that the initial period of use is malware free, but I think the vendors view this as a necessity to have new "average" users accept the product. If "power" users want to answer more questions, they can change the settings.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Comodo Firewall Newbie

    I don't ever remember any self-training mode of ZA, Jefferson, but I NEVER objected to the popups from ZA asking my permission to run something! They didn't happen that often and frequently were the result of a program having been updated, etc. In spite of all the naysayers (Woody included) I'd still be using ZA if the <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0> thing worked OK in Vista, but it apparently doesn't, as my last few successful days without it can attest!

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Comodo Firewall Newbie

    <hr>I disable their Defence+ option <hr>
    May I ask why, Tony? I understood it to be a malware protection feature and NOT an AV scanner. Am I correct in that understanding? Since the initial scan found things that my two stalwarts did not, I figured on letting it run for awhile to see what happens. Do you have any bad experiences with it? Since you say you're waiting for their AV product, I figure you're satisfied overall.

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Comodo Firewall Newbie

    I have Windows Defender running and for me it was overkill. Running scans with Defender, Spybot and Lavasoft Ad-aware have never picked up anything more malicious than tracking cookies for several years. When I first installed Comodo Firewall I let it run the scan but it found nothing.

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Comodo Firewall Newbie

    Thanks, that's cool. I think I'll let it run for awhile to see what happens. I was only concerned to make sure that it didn't conflict with Avast. One of these days <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> I'm gonna give Windows Defender a spin too!

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    265
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Comodo Firewall Newbie

    I've been running Comodo ever since I got my new laptop back in April (that came with Vista installed). Never had a problem with any anti-virus I tried - real easy to use.
    Ed
    "Somebody left the cork out of my lunch." - W. C. Fields

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Comodo Firewall Newbie

    I guess this is a result of not understanding the difference between training and safe mode, Tony. Mine is in Safe Mode which is what it defaulted to when installed.

    Well, as much as it may sound like it, this post is NOT a complaint about Comodo! It's more of a surprise after what I experienced the first day or two. I'm satisfied that it's "watching my back" but today, the number of warnings was a tad on the high side and that's a conservative statement. I save most of my software installs or updates for the weekend, after I've done my weekly backup images. Today I've had software to install in both XP and Vista, such as Adobe Reader 9, Paint.Net 3.35 and a couple of others. When I did so, the Comodo popups began to fly like mad. It seems that every little built-in subset of the installers triggers a warning, so I just about had to keep my mouse on the OK button and click away! One of 'em (see attached) was even the result of "accessing the screen."

    It may be that I could avoid some or all of this by changing the mode of Comodo's firewall, but I may be a glutton for punishment too. It's a learning experience to see what it's watching for.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Comodo Firewall Newbie

    Doggone it, you're right Bob. Old age slipping around in my brain again for I meant to mention that when I started this thread. I also had to turn off the Vista firewall but I didn't go to Services to do it. I just visited the Security app of Control Panel and did it there. I just now checked to make sure it stuck and it looks like it has. The top part of this clip is what the Windows firewall says, BUT the bottom (below the red line) is from the Security summary screen. Thanks for reminding me of the oversight!
    Attached Images Attached Images

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Comodo Firewall Newbie

    Al,
    I have Comodo installed now on the Vista side of the house and so far it seems to be running OK.

    Question?
    I noticed that Comodo did NOT turn off Windows Firewall. I had to go into the Services list and manually disable it. I would have thought that Comodo would have done this automatically. Did it react that way when you installed it <img src=/S/question.gif border=0 alt=question width=15 height=15>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •