Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Autotext causes Word to crash (2003/SP3)

    There is an issue with an Autotext Addin on our system. It seems to crash some (not all) of the user's systems. It doesn't matter whether they are in a blank document (Normal.dot) or in a different template. MS Word crashes when they are typing a word that "triggers" the AutoComplete box.

    Every user on the system has their own copy of a customized Normal.dot. As mentioned, not all of the users are having this issue, really only a handful. Turning off the Autocomplete option will stop this from happening on their system, but I would really like to know why this is happening. It is definately not a corrupt Normal.dot. I should mention that I also recreated the Autotext Addin from scratch, so that should not be corrupted either.

    Has this happened to anyone else? If so, please let me know what I can do to fix.

    Thanks so much.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Autotext causes Word to crash (2003/SP3)

    Do the user get an error message when Word crashes? If so, what does it say?

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Autotext causes Word to crash (2003/SP3)

    You can also try the steps in Phil Rabichow's <!post=Systematic Approach to Behavioral Problems in Word,197827>Systematic Approach to Behavioral Problems in Word<!/post>.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Autotext causes Word to crash (2003/SP3)

    Is the AutoText add-in a standard Word template (.dot) with just AutoText entries in it -- no code? If there is code as well, what does it do and does it use any external objects that are not commonly present in Word (e.g., Office, Word, and standard VBA library)?

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Autotext causes Word to crash (2003/SP3)

    The AutoText add-in is just a standard Word template with AutoText entries stored in it - absolutely no code. The majority of these AutoText entries are used by macros to insert the text into the documents at the proper places, so I find it difficult to believe that it could corrupt so easily and quickly. I just redid this add-in in March, it was fine until a couple of weeks ago, then began having these issues and redid another one a few days ago. Unfortunately, there are still issues.

    I believe the users are getting an error message, unfortunately, I am getting the information from my Systems Manager, and he wasn't sure which message they were getting - said it was the standard Word error message.

    Thanks so much for your help. I was hoping that it would be something easy, but it never is with Microsoft, is it?

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Portland, Maine, USA
    Posts
    296
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='maverik1' post='724850' date='02-Aug-2008 06:03']The AutoText add-in is just a standard Word template with AutoText entries stored in it - absolutely no code. The majority of these AutoText entries are used by macros to insert the text into the documents at the proper places, so I find it difficult to believe that it could corrupt so easily and quickly. I just redid this add-in in March, it was fine until a couple of weeks ago, then began having these issues and redid another one a few days ago. Unfortunately, there are still issues.

    I believe the users are getting an error message, unfortunately, I am getting the information from my Systems Manager, and he wasn't sure which message they were getting - said it was the standard Word error message.

    Thanks so much for your help. I was hoping that it would be something easy, but it never is with Microsoft, is it?[/quote]

    Did you ever find an answer to this? I am having a similar problem now ...

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,852
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts
    What are the names of the autotext entries? Could it be that some of the characters used in the names are acceptable as characters in the autotext names but cause a problem with the AutoComplete functionality?
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •