Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Missing .Net Framework (Ultimate (SP1))

    Not looking for trouble, but just curious...

    In Windows XP I had Framework installed, not sure why but suspect it was needed for some of my apps. I upgraded to Vista a year ago and essentially am running the same applications that I had in the XP environment. However, no where do I find an installation of any version of .NET Framework.

    Not having any problems running any of my apps, so will leave sleeping-dogs-lie.

    Any thoughts / comments?

    Cheers, Bob
    Regards,
    Bob

  2. #2
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Missing .Net Framework (Ultimate (SP1))

    It is my understanding that NET is a part of Vista, and that you can't have Vista without it. Why not install something like Paint.net, which requires it, just to see what happens?

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Missing .Net Framework (Ultimate (SP1))

    And darn well worth having too! <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing .Net Framework (Ultimate (SP1))

    Sorry for the delayed response. Energetic puppy still occupying spare-time-activities. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    My earlier comment about not having found evidence of .Net Framework was based on the single fact that there is nothing shown in the Add/Remove Program component in my Vista Ultimate environment. I believe, but not 100% positive, that it was shown in my XP environment.

    Anyway, I combed the directories and found evidence of .Net buried in the C:WindowsMicrosoft.NET folder. There are 4 versions in sub folders. Versions 1.0 and 1.1 do not have extensive number of files, but just a few dll's. Versions 2.0 and 3.0 appear to be more complete.

    Through additional research, I was able to determine that .Net Framework was installed when I installed Vista. When I performed the update process as part of the installation task, two security updates were applied to 2.0 and 3.0. This was a year ago. Nothing since.

    To the best of my knowledge, I do not have any applications requiring .Net. So, I will leave those sleeping dogs lie. Now, if I could only convince my 11 month old Lab to do likewise I could get back to more surfing!!! <img src=/S/hairout.gif border=0 alt=hairout width=31 height=23>

    Thanks again...

    Cheers, Bob
    Regards,
    Bob

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing .Net Framework (Ultimate (SP1))

    Hi Peter, thanks for your suggestion.

    I provided more information <!post=in this reply to Hans,725032>in this reply to Hans<!/post> about finding some .Net components on my system.

    Regarding Paint.Net... I currently have Paint Shop Pro X2 and Adobe Photoshop Elements on my system. I guess I could always add Paint.net to the mixture. <img src=/S/bananas.gif border=0 alt=bananas width=33 height=35>

    Cheers, Bob
    Regards,
    Bob

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing .Net Framework (Ultimate (SP1))

    Hi Al,

    If I am not mistaken, I believe you used to, perhaps still have, Paint Shop Pro. Can't remember the version you might have been running. If still running PSP how do you find Paint.net compared to PSP.

    Cheers, Bob
    Regards,
    Bob

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Missing .Net Framework (Ultimate (SP1))

    I do still use PSP version 10 - MOST of the time. It's kinda like I'm doing with Vista. I'll have something to do so I try to remember to use Paint.Net unless I'm pressed for time. I'm still very low on the learning curve with it but I haven't found anything that I usually do with PSP that I can't do with Paint.Net. For example, I'm used to a menu in PSP under Image called "Image Information" which is where I first look to see the dimensions of a pix. In Paint.Net a day or so ago, I couldn't find the blankety-blank info in the menus and it was driving me nuts. Well, whaddya know, there it is, down at the bottom staring me in the face...
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Missing .Net Framework (Ultimate (SP1))

    If you do want to try something 'fancy' that is not in the standard Paint.net product, you should check their Paint.NET View forum - Plugins - Publishing Only. There is a lot of cool and some rather weird stuff there.

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Missing .Net Framework (Ultimate (SP1))

    Here it is in Control Panel.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Missing .Net Framework (Ultimate (SP1))

    Added later: this reply is incorrect - see <post:=726,509>post 726,509</post:> further down in this thread

    The .Net Framework is not a Windows component. It's the runtime part of .Net, needed by programs written in one of the .Net languages. If you don't have any of those, you don't need the .Net Framework either.

    If you ever decide to install the .Net Framework, you can go to Microsoft Update and click Custom. The .Net Framework (several versions of it) should be listed under Optional Software.

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Missing .Net Framework (Ultimate (SP1))

    Thanks - so .Net Framework 3.0 is a Vista component. I have added a note to my reply higher up in this thread, referring to your reply.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •