Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 36
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,203
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Vista Snipping Tool (Home Premium)

    Thanks to <!profile=viking33>viking33<!/profile> Bob's post <post#=724895>post 724895</post#>, I have recently started to use the excellent Vista Snipping Tool. Only one problem, when I launch the application (from the Quick Launch bar), my PC freezes for about 60 seconds until Snipping Tool eventually launches. Has anyone else experienced this, or can anyone offer any advice or explanation?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Vista Snipping Tool (Home Premium)

    Do you have the "Tablet PC Input Service" turned on? If not, this service has to be started when you try to use the Snipping tool.

    To check: click the big Windows button, type services and press Enter. Locate "Tablet PC Input Service".

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Vista Snipping Tool (Home Premium)

    Nathan.
    There is a certain amount of delay while the tool loads. I haven't really paid much attention to just how long the delay is. ( I'll have to do that )

    You CAN turn off the overlay screen, which MAY reduce this time somewhat.
    -----------------------------------------------------
    Note When Snipping Tool is open, a white overlay appears on your screen until you capture a snip. To turn off the overlay, open Snipping Tool, and then click Options. In the Snipping Tool Options dialog box, clear the Show screen overlay when Snipping Tool is active check box, and then click OK.
    -----------------------------------------------------

    Give it a try, you can always go back to the default if need be.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  4. #4
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,203
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista Snipping Tool (Home Premium)

    Hi Bob, Thanks for the advice, but this does'nt seem to have made any difference. It's no big thing i guess, it just seems to be an awful long time to open such a small application.

    I'm lazy in the fact that I allow windows to do it's thing and automatically update, I know a lot of you don't recommend that. A few auto updates went through recently and I have noticed a slight slowdown at windows start-up, maybe a dodgy update?

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Vista Snipping Tool (Home Premium)

    Nathan,
    I did check the load time for snipping tool and it was just a few seconds.
    Not sure why it takes a minute on your system. I assume you have control of this file as admin?

    I would check in your Administrative Tools | Event Viewer to see if it shows some problem there.

    Is this the only utility tool that takes a while to load?
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,203
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista Snipping Tool (Home Premium)

    Edited by HansV to reduce picture in size - please don't post pictures larger than 640 x 480 pixels.

    Hans, If I am understanding you correctly, then as per the attached 'snip' then yes, I an presuming that this is automatically started at start-up.

    Thanks Bob, I will give that a try and report back any improvement.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: jpg x.jpg (16.5 KB, 1 views)

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Vista Snipping Tool (Home Premium)

    Yes, the service is started automatically, so that can't be the cause of the delay.
    I'd consider using one of the free screen capture utilities - you'll find them mentioned in the Other Software Applications forum.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Vista Snipping Tool (Home Premium)

    What else is going on your system? Can you tell us a little more about the hardware - processor, ram, etc.? Are you up-to-date with patches? Is there a lot of disk activity while the snipping tool loads?

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Vista Snipping Tool (Home Premium)

    I have the same problem and will provide some information that applies in my case. Bob's discussion of the Options may be of interest but I haven't tried it yet, since I have the additional problem in that the overlay or the delay causes sometimes available detail to vanish before I succeed in getting a shot.

    There is more than one driver that may be in play, and one may be much more complex than the other. I have the tool available because i have a Wacom tablet, and I think the corresponding driver is what has given my computer tablet capability. That is, the computer is treated as a tablet computer even though it is not, nor have I knowingly installed a driver or setting to that effect. I might add that the Vista tablet stuff looks primitive compared to the Wacom, but that is just my impression. Anyone can download the Wacom driver free of charge.

    My delay is similar to what was reported above. My computer is a bottom of the line Toshiba laptop with originally 512 MB of RAM, since upgraded to 1.5 GB, with 4 GB ReadyBoost. Hard drive is 60 GB. All software is up to date: Vista Business and Office 2007 Ultimate, Visio 2007, Project 2007, etc.

  10. #10
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,203
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista Snipping Tool (Home Premium)

    Hi,
    I am a little baffled by this.... I have tried to answer most of your questions, Thanks to all for your time!!

    I am the only user, set as admin.
    No problems detailed in Event Viewer.
    This is the only utility that I have noticed taking a long time to load.
    Disc activity is minimal, only Outlook and IE running.
    Fully patched up, uninstalled KB 952709 patch for Vista as per Woody’s advice, this has made no difference.
    Vista Home Premium SP1.
    HP Pavilion dv9700 Notebook PC. (6 weeks old)
    AMD Turion 64 x2 Mobile Technology TL-60 2.00GHz
    3.00 GB memory
    32 bit OS
    C: Local disk 170GB free of 221 GB
    D: HP Recovery 2.04GB free of 11.5GB

    Screenshot below: Achieved from searching C; for “Sni”
    I set the shortcut from the System32 folder in the Quick Launch bar.
    Using either shortcut (from search) take equal time to load

    When I open C: I don’t see: Program Data............. Is this hidden? How do I access Accessories under Vista??

    I just opened from quick launce, stopwatch reads 1 minute and 2 seconds exactly!!
    Attached Images Attached Images

  11. #11
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,203
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista Snipping Tool (Home Premium)

    When I search C: for "Sni", the actual application in system 32 does not appear?

    The file size is tiny - A mere 270KB.

    <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>
    Attached Images Attached Images

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista Snipping Tool (Home Premium)

    1. Do you have "Show hidden files and folders" enabled in "Explorer window: Organize > Folder and Search Options > View (tab)"?

    2. IF the SnippingTool. exe file isn't found in C:WindowsSystem32, where IS IT located?

    3. Why not try and copy the SnippingTool.exe file from wherever it is to C:WindowsSystem32, create a shortcut to the file in that location and give that a try to see if it then opens quickly?
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  13. #13
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Vista Snipping Tool (Home Premium)

    Right-click on the icon or command and click on Properties to find the location conveniently.

  14. #14
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Vista Snipping Tool (Home Premium)

    Turning off the overlay DID reduce my delay greatly, but i also noted that the delay itself was less than in past, which may be a result of my own recent tweaking and tuning. I also found that turning it off did not solve the problem of trying to get a screen shot of cascading menus.

    Nathan's computer is a new machine with gobs of resources, but if he has been installing a lot of software or updates the drive can become defragmented and he will take a performance hit no matter how much free space there is. All I can suggest for any slow performance is to try a defrag.

  15. #15
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,203
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista Snipping Tool (Home Premium)

    Good point. I have installed all the MS patches (Control Panel | Programs | Programs and Features | Installed Updates > shows that: 53 were installed prior to purchase, and 73 have been installed since). Software > MS Office 2002, Kaspersky 2009 Internet security suite, Windows Messenger, a few odds and sods of freeware........ I would'nt have thought that I would need to defrag yet, but i can certainly give that a shot. Other than the snipping tool, I would say that my overall performance is pretty good.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •