Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Leesburg, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    618
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Installing SP3 (Window XP Pro)

    I have tried several time to install SP3 after downloading updates from the Windows Update site. After downloading and starting the install wizard, the ribbon runs for about 3 bars and then stops. I have Automatic Updates turned on but have never been offered SP3 on any of my computers.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,587
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Installing SP3 (Window XP Pro)

    There is something about your configuration that the AU detection mechanism finds that prevents it from offering SP-3. Some people have gotten around this by downloading the complete SP-3 from Download details: Windows XP Service Pack 3 Network Installation Package for IT Professionals and Developers. This method also has the advantage of allowing you to burn SP-3 to a CD so you can easily use it on other PCs and also have a copy handy if you have to reload XP from scratch.

    You might also be interested in Download details: Windows XP Service Pack 3 Overview.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Leesburg, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    618
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Installing SP3 (Window XP Pro)

    After reading what SP3 includes I think I will skip it. My computers have all the updates and I do not see anything that SP3 would add.
    Thanks for the help.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Leesburg, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    618
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Installing SP3 (Window XP Pro)

    I continue to get a shield in the information bar saying I have updates to install. When I click on it I find it is SP3. I have decided not to install SP3. How do I stop this notification from reappearing?

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Installing SP3 (Window XP Pro)

    I don't think you can, as some of the updates you are not seeing require SP3.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Leesburg, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    618
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Installing SP3 (Window XP Pro)

    (On my laptop) I did not have this problem until I went to the MS Windows update site. It suggested that I download and install SP3. I did the download. The SP3 install wizard started, ran for about 2 bars then stopped. I waited several hours and nothing changed. I canceled the install. Tried again later with the same results. Now I keep getting a reminder to install SP3. Every time I try it hangs after 3 bars. On my desktop I am still running SP2 and have never been offered SP3. I seem to still be getting weekly updates on my desktop.

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Installing SP3 (Window XP Pro)

    >How do I stop this notification from reappearing?

    You can download a 'Service Pack Blocker' tool from Microsoft at
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

    This will allow you to turn on Automatic Updates, but keep SP3 from automatically being downloaded and installed for '12 months following general availability' -- so it should be effective until May, 2009.

    Or you can try uncheck that update the next time it pops up and then close the window (do not use the "X" in the upper right corner, close it properly) and you will be prompted as to whether you want to see this notification in the future or not. I'm not 100% certain that this is an option with SP3. But I believe that is how I stopped the notification for it.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •