Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    614
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    I froze my database on Startup (Access2003)

    I went to Tools-Startup and unchecked all the boxes.
    How can I get back? I need to finisg design but I can't because it is frozen...

    Also I want only form to be visible for the user. However I can see part of the Dadabase window as well.
    I need the form to be full screen. Please, advice.

    Thanks a lot!

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: I froze my database on Startup (Access2003)

    Hold down the Shift key while opening the database.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    614
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: I froze my database on Startup (Access2003)

    REALLY???
    Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    It is so cool! I did it! Do you know everything, Hans???

    Can I have only form showing for users? Thanks

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: I froze my database on Startup (Access2003)

    You should specify a form to be shown on startup in Tools | Startup, for example a switchboard created by using Tools | Database Utilities | Switchboard Manager.
    Users should be able to open other forms and reports from the startup form.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    614
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: I froze my database on Startup (Access2003)

    Actually not exactly.
    It is 1 Report with 3 different sortings.
    So user will click on mdb and it will pop up in a form of...Form only!
    Nothing else will be visible. Just a form. User will choose from combos and run Report.
    No switchboard needed. I can't make form to be alone! Always drugging Access frame with it!

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: I froze my database on Startup (Access2003)

    I wouldn't recommend hiding the application window, but if you really want to, see <post:=546,238>post 546,238</post:>.

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: I froze my database on Startup (Access2003)

    Similarly to Hans' answer it is not always a good idea to hide the database window unless you start hiding toolbars as well. I just know from experience that users will quite happily Click Window | Unhide and they can then see the Database Window.

    I taught Access at University for 6 years and was always amazed that the college insisted on having students hide the window and then create a button to unhide it.

    You could design the form such that :

    1) Scrollbars - Neither
    2) Border Style - None
    3) Auto Center - Yes
    4) Min Max Buttons - None

    You can design the form to be larger than the DB Window

    Just some ideas
    Jerry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •