Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Vista and SHTML (IE 7.0.6001.18000)

    IE7 will open an SHTML file on a website, but it will not open one on my hard drive. I cannot verify my pages before sending them to my website. I get a Windows message that "Internet Explorer has stopped working . . . Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available." I am using Vista Home Premium with SP1.

    How can I get IE to open SHTML files on my hard drive?
    Thanks, Bruce

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Vista and SHTML (IE 7.0.6001.18000)

    Hi Bruce

    Have a look at this:

    Internet Explorer 7 does not start or stops responding

    HTH
    Jerry

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista and SHTML (IE 7.0.6001.18000)

    Hi Jerry,

    I tried some of the techniques on the referenced link, including running IE7 without add-ons. Same problem. I turned turned Protected Mode off and that did not help. A friend of mine says that when he opens a page with an SHTML extension from his hard drive, he gets a listing of the source code. BTW, the same problem exists with WinXP. I wonder if FireFox acts this way. Perhaps I should use it for these pages.

    Bruce

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Vista and SHTML (IE 7.0.6001.18000)

    When a web server sends a file to the browser, it first sends a Content-Type so the browser knows whether to treat it as HTML or something else. That is not available when you open a file from the local system.

    Any reason not to rename the file(s) to a more familiar .htm or .html extension?

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista and SHTML (IE 7.0.6001.18000)

    I do have the following first line on the web pages, but I guess this is not helping in this case.

    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">

    I need the "s" in shtml so that the website server will look for a style css file. Interesting that Netscape will open a page fine. I'll try to get by just using the web editor to look before uploading.

    Bruce

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Vista and SHTML (IE 7.0.6001.18000)

    You could install IIS (the Microsoft Web Server) and use it to test your web site. To install IIS go to control panel | Programs | Turn Windows features on or off. Then just check the box for Internet Information Services.

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Vista and SHTML (IE 7.0.6001.18000)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by jscher2000 on 10-Aug-08 21:53. Oops, was thinking of a different post.)</P>A doctype declaration assists the browser in determining how to lay out the page, but it doesn't deal with content-type. There might be a <meta> tag for that, but since you won't need it on the server, it's probably not worth editing all your pages to include it.

    I'm a little confused about why you need .shtml -- invoking server-side includes on the server -- to serve a style sheet. Using a <link> tag, the browser should retrieve and apply the CSS file regardless of what happens on the server. Or are you changing the CSS file name using SSI?? If you don't need SSI, avoid it: it milliseconds of adds overhead to the process of serving each page.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •