Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Vista wont shut down (Vista ult)

    I am running vista ult and it wont shut down.When I click on shut down or restart it takes about 5to 10 mins for the desktop to close then the shut down screen comes up. The longest I have left it is an hour.
    Any thoughts.

    Gus.

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista wont shut down (Vista ult)

    My guess would be you have some "rogue" program, virus, trojan, malware/spyware or the like running in the background. Have you checked Task Manager to see what is running (Processes and Services), what is using the most CPU cycles and/or Memory which looks suspicious? Do you have a reliable and up-to-date antiviirus program installed and/or run an online AV, e.g., Housecall? What antispyware programs do you have installed and have you scanned your PC with it/them lately?
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista wont shut down (Vista ult)

    Less sinisterly, do you have any "passive" internet connection left open when you shut down - such as Instant Messaging?
    Gre

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,580
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts

    Re: Vista wont shut down (Vista ult)

    Troubleshooting shutdown (and/or startup) issues is usually time consuming and frustrating. See WinVistaClub : Windows Vista does not shutdown & troubleshoot shutdown - Google Search. Also, Search The Knowledge Base has links to Microsoft articles on several different shutdown issues.

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista wont shut down (Vista ult)

    Jeff.
    That was the first thing I thought of.
    I am running avg8 free edition spyware doctor all up to date.I run scans with both every time I log on and before I log off.Only the odd tracking cookie found.

    Gus.

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista wont shut down (Vista ult)

    unkamunka.
    I think you hit the nail on the head.
    I have in the last couple of days [ that's when the problem started ] up graded to wireless broadband roaming . We don't have cable were I live not even tv.
    I have removed my dial up modem and it seems to have fixed the problem .
    I don't know why I did not think of it in the first place . One of those moments !!
    Thanks for your help.
    Gus

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •