Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Desktop Web Icons (Home Prem SP1)

    When I drag web http addresses from IE7 onto my desktop, the icon chages to the big e. With my WinXP, the website's icon came with the link shortcut. How can I get the distinctive icon to stick?

    Bruce

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Desktop Web Icons (Home Prem SP1)

    What you are looking for is called a favicon. See Favicon - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia for a more complete discussion. What you need to do is find the favicon for the site for which you created a shortcut in your TIF (temporary internet files). These are hidden folders so you'll need to change your settings in Windows Explorer under Organize | Folder and search Options | View to "Show hidden files and folders". Once you find it move or copy it to a diiferent folder of your choice. Then right click on the shortcut, select properties, change icon and browse to where you saved the icon.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Web Icons (Home Prem SP1)

    I'm ok until your statement "Once you find it ..." I have trouble finding anything in Vista. Where do I look or what do I search for to find the temp files?

    I copied a dozen web favicons from my old WinXP desktop. The images were on the Vista desktop for a while; then they disappeared. So with this marvelous Visa, I have to go through this laborious procedure -- when there is no effort at all with WinXP?

    Bruce

  4. #4
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,203
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Web Icons (Home Prem SP1)

    <<<<< I have trouble finding anything in Vista.

    Welcome to my world!! <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Desktop Web Icons (Home Prem SP1)

    As I said, favicons are stored in your TIF (Temporary Internet Files). You can see the location of your TIF in Internet Explorer by looking at Tools | Internet Options | Browsing History | Settings. In the middle of the page see "Current location". That is where you need to look. The reason that you only saw the files temporarily is that the TIF truly is temporary. As IE fills up these folders it will replace files as needed. That is why I suggested that you copy the favicon to another folder.

    I can absolutely guarantee you that under XP if IE would've needed the space in its TIF those files would've been overwritten. By default in XP, IE used to allocate approximately 10% of your freespace to the TIF when it was run for the first time. See the comments in IEBlog : IE content-type logic. If you did not change that size you may never have noticed any favicons being overwritten.

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Web Icons (Home Prem SP1)

    Thanks, Joe. I went to look at the history files and there was only one ico file there, last accessed 8/1. The disk space (default) size was 50MB, so I made it 512MB. Then I tried opening IE and dragging a link to the desktop. The ico did not come with it. I looked at the TIFs again and there was no new entry since before. There were no new jpg or gif files either.

    Is there a setting that will inhibit saving TIFs? The automatically check for newer versions of stored pages is selected.

    Bruce

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Desktop Web Icons (Home Prem SP1)

    You can't just drag a link if the favicon is not in your TIF already. You must actually visit the site to get the favicon downloaded.

    Joe
    Joe

  8. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Web Icons (Home Prem SP1)

    I went to the site and dragged the site's link from the window at the top of IE. Yours has a nice dragon. I will try dragging it to the desktop. Well, it worked because I am using my WinXP system now. It doesn't work in my Vista laptop. I looked in the WinXP TIF folder to find the flavicon for http:// stockcharts.com and it was not there -- even though I have several of them on my desktop. I did see many others, including yours.

    It appears to me that my Vista TIF is not working. There are few files in there.

    Bruce

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Desktop Web Icons (Home Prem SP1)

    If the Wikipedia article linked in <post:=726,670>post 726,670</post:> you'll notice that the file does not have to be named favicon. It can be named anything and can be virtually any type of graphics file. So, to check accurately you'll have to look at every file and/or check the source code of the web page to see if a file is specified there.

    If the TIF was not working properly you'd not get anything displayed in IE. Check your display options in Windows Explorer (Organize | Folder and View Options | View) to make sure "show hidden files & folders" is selected and "Hide protected operating system files" is not checked.

    Joe
    Joe

  10. #10
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Web Icons (Home Prem SP1)

    Joe, I appreciate your patience with this. I unchecked "Hide protected op system files." I deleted all TIF files, leaving cookies. There were 9 cookie files and nothing else. I surfed to a couple Yahoo pages, and looked back at the TIF files. There were no additional files.

    Previously I had "Check for newer versions of stored pages" set to Automatically. With this latest test, I had changed that to "Every time I visit the webpage."

    Somehow my TIF seems to be turned off. I went to Run and typed "services.msc" and took a look for anything unusual -- not knowing what that meant. I assume that when the Startup Type is "manual" the function will start if needed. Right? I'll list some of the settings below.

    Internet Connection Sharing - disabled
    Virtual Disk - manual, but not started
    WebClient - automatic and started

    I didn't see anything that seemed to relate to TIF. Can you think of any other areas to investigate to get the flavicons back on the desktop?

    One other thing that is improper, that might be a hint: When I go to my website, which uses a style sheet, the font is much too large. The style sheet sets it to 15pt. One of the pages, if you'd like to take a look is http://www.seniorcenterinc.org/progr...ramnotes.shtml.

    Bruce

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Desktop Web Icons (Home Prem SP1)

    Are you saying that in Internet Explorer if you go to Tools | Internet Options | Browsing History | Settings | View Files there are no files after browsing to several web sites? Can you post a screen shot of the View Files results? See A Guide to Attaching Screenshots for help if you need it.

    The site you referenced looks OK to me. BTW, to make a link active use the tags <!t>http://www.seniorcenterinc.org/programs/programnotes.shtml<!t>"]<!/t>http://www.seniorcenterinc.org/progr...ramnotes.shtml<!t>[/url]<!/t> which results in the clickable http://www.seniorcenterinc.org/progr...ramnotes.shtml.

    Joe
    Joe

  12. #12
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Web Icons (Home Prem SP1)

    Here is a screen shot of the TIF. I had to make it small to get the file size down.

    Bruce
    Attached Images Attached Images

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Desktop Web Icons (Home Prem SP1)

    1.) What do you have the length of time to keep your browsing History set to?
    2.) In IE under Tools | Internet Options | Advanced (security section near bottom) is "Empty Temporary Internet Files folder when browser is closed" checked or clear?
    3.) Have you made any changes in the Security, Privacy or Content tabs in Internet Options?

    Joe
    Joe

  14. #14
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Web Icons (Home Prem SP1)

    1.) What do you have the length of time to keep your browsing History set to?
    20 days

    2.) In IE under Tools | Internet Options | Advanced (security section near bottom) is "Empty Temporary Internet Files folder when browser is closed" checked or clear?
    Not checked

    3.) Have you made any changes in the Security, Privacy or Content tabs in Internet Options?
    I probably did change something. I looked through Advanced and didn't see what! I then compared the setting to my WinXP system. The differences are: Disable script debugging (Other) is checked. Use inline AutoComplete is unchecked. Use HTTP1.1 through proxy connections is checked. Alway use ClearType for HTML is unchecked. Check for server certification revocation is checked.
    Under Security, I have default medium-high with protected mode enabled. Privacy is Medium with pop-up blocker on.

    I just checked my TIF again and I picked up 7 jpg files from vnd.ms.wmhtml://localhost/. This was a bit earlier; not just now when I went to a couple sites.

    Bruce

  15. #15
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Web Icons (Home Prem SP1)

    Joe, I rebooted and the flavicons are back! There are a few more localhost jpg files in TIF folder now, but not much. There are no websites.

    Bruce

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •