Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    London, Middlesex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    vista slows to a crawl after startup (Vista Home Premium sp1)

    Hi.

    After startup and all the startup programs launching, after a couple of minutes or so the machine slows down so much as to be unusable. I thought at first it was spybot so I disabled it. But still had the problem. It seems to be intermittant, as after some frustrating time (once all evening) of manual shutdown and restarts (sometimes from safemode) it works again. I've tried shutting down some programs and disabling others but this hasn't helped.

    The sidebar takes ages to load and it keeps freezing along with the taskbar. I'm not sure now whether it's a program/process at fault or Vista or something else. When I 've gone into safemode I can't disble any programs from it because the security centre won't load. As you can probably tell I'm not very technically knowledgeable, although I can find my way around vista reasonably well... most of the time.

    I'd appreciate any help.

    Thanks
    Hope

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: vista slows to a crawl after startup (Vista Home Premium sp1)

    Try the following:
    - Right-click an empty part of the taskbar.
    - Select Task Manager from the popup menu.
    - Activate the Processes tab.
    - Click twice on the CPU column heading to sort descending on CPU usage.
    Are there any processes that are taking up a lot of processor capacity? If so, which?

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: vista slows to a crawl after startup (Vista Home Premium sp1)

    What firewall program and antivirus program are you running? There could be a conflict.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    London, Middlesex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: vista slows to a crawl after startup (Vista Home Premium sp1)

    Hi.

    thanks for your answers. When the machine slows right down I can't even get to the task manager. Everything takes forever to show up. I even went away and did something else, came back and it still hadn't showed. And I'm using Vista's own firewall, with Bullguard and A squared. I had Spybot's new version and thought that was the problem. I disabled it but it didn't make any difference. i haven't added any new security software recently. Although I'm thinking of adding Adaware. I know there's a potential conflict with Spybot but it's not a big one.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: vista slows to a crawl after startup (Vista Home Premium sp1)

    Spybot <big>COULD</big> be a problem <big>IF</big> the OP enabled "TeaTimer" during the installation which runs all the time. Otherwise, you are 100% correct that Spybot S&D does nothing unless the user starts a scan, etc.

    Perhaps the OP should try booting into Safe Mode to see if this resolves the issue and thereby discover if it is a driver issue? <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: vista slows to a crawl after startup (Vista Home Premium sp1)

    I hope other Loungers who have heard of BullGuard and A-Squared will chime in, because I know nothing about them. I'm also not sure what you mean about Spybot as I know it to be a run-once scan and it's done, so there should be no cause for Spybot to slow your machine down. I know it's a security risk but I think I would first disable this Bullguard and A Squared, temporarily, even if you have to unplug your internet cable for safety. The site description says Bullguard is OK for Vista, but you never know. I'm pretty sure we're looking for a software culprit here and I'd start here and then decide, if that doesn't show any results, what do we do next.

    Edited to add links I forgot yesterday, hoping they're the correct ones.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •