Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: Belarc Advisor

  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Belarc Advisor

    When I opened the program today I saw this notice. "Unable to check for new Advisor Security definitions. Analysis will procede using the existing definitions. Details: Operation time out (error 12002)" I closed and reloaded it twice with no change.

    When Belarc appeared some of the versions listed under Software Versions were not correct.

    Is the above error message the cause? I've never know Belarc to give false version information before and I've used it for years.

    One of the versions that was incorrect is: America Online, Inc. - AOL Instant Messenger version 5.9.6089. AIM.exe properties shows version 6.8.10.1 and that's the version when I open AIM. I feel that the error message is the cause, but I'm not too sure.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Belarc Advisor

    I suspect it was a temporary glitch. I started Belarc Advisor just now and it uploaded new definitions without problems. I'd try it again later today, or tomorrow.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Belarc Advisor

    Thank You Hans,

    That's my feelings exactly. But after I rebooted twice and never got the updated definitions I began to worry if the problem could be caused by my computer. I'd suspect it before I'd suspect Belarc's information.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Belarc Advisor

    Sometimes a website is unavailable temporarily, for example because it is overhelmed by visitors, or because of maintenance, etc.

    For example, about an hour ago, I couldn't reach the Microsoft Update website, it simply wouldn't load. It opened without any problem just now.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Belarc Advisor

    Prompted by yours and Hans' conversation about this, and the fact that I haven't updated MY Belarc since I installed Vista some time ago, I just ran the program and it went without error to the Belarc web and downloaded the latest updates (7.2x). Keep at it, Duchess.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Belarc Advisor

    I tried Belarc about 2 hours ago and it loaded but no mention of security updates. I will take your suggestion and try again tomorrow.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Belarc Advisor

    Hi Doc,

    I have the latest version 7.2x, but it's the Security Updates that makes it load current Microsoft updates, Program installations, versions, and locations.Is it possible to remove it and download it again, perhaps it needs a jump start.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Belarc Advisor

    You can always try that, it won't hurt.

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Belarc Advisor

    I just installed Belarc for the first time.[neat little program].
    It found that my computer is missing 13 hot fix security updates.
    Is there any easy way to get these or do I have to go to ms and download them one at a time?
    Gus.

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Belarc Advisor

    If you go to Microsoft Update and select Custom, you should get a list of updates that apply to your PC. You can choose which ones you want to install. They will then be downloaded and installed in one go. You may have to reboot your PC at the end.

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Belarc Advisor

    You should be able to go to the MS updates page and pick and choose which updates you want to install.

  12. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Belarc Advisor

    Thanks Hans.
    I checked them out.Most were for outlook express and IE which I don't use and office 2003 which I will hold of downloading.
    I only use office for files I bring home from work so I know whats in them.

    Gus.

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Belarc Advisor

    I'd recommend that you install all the outlook express and IE updates. The IE rendering engine is used by many product - Office 2003 being one. Therefore, you really need all security updates for IE.

    Joe
    Joe

  14. #14
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Belarc Advisor

    Thanks All.
    Looks like the download allowance is going to get a hit.

    Gus.

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Belarc Advisor

    Belarc was uninstalled and re-installed, During re-install I was asked if I wanted to check for new Advisor security definitions, I answered yes. A message came back that they were up-to-date, with current version as: 2008.8.14.1.

    Nothing has changed as far as the wrong version listed for Instant Messenger and my Anti-Virus showing that Real Time File Scanning was off, which it isn't. To be sure about Kaspersky Anti-Virus I updated to version 2009 (8.0.0.454).

    The next thing I will try is to remove Instant messenger and download the latest version and hope it changes in Belarc. I don't know what I can do about Kaspersky and real time scanning, I think I will ignore that notice because I can't find anywhere any mention of turning it on or off.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •