Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: reclaiming RAM?

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    cool, california
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    reclaiming RAM?

    heard a rumor that there is a 3-keystroke trick to "sort-of reboot", flushing memory, but not actually doing restart; anybody know that trick & what it does?

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: reclaiming RAM?

    Probably CTRL+ALT+DEL. Allows you to see the programs running in memory, but don't delete them if you don't know what they are (there is a useful post on this in the Me forum). If you think that you have unnecessary programs draining resources, your best bet is to remove them from the Startup sequence, through msconfig; but again, make sure you you know what you are removing.
    We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Northern, California, USA
    Posts
    1,886
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: reclaiming RAM?

    If you find out this miracle cure, please let me know..

    This is one of the problems with Microsoft's operating system, the only true way to clear the memory is to reset the machine, because everything is wholly integrated with the OS, it's impossible for any one key-stroke or program to reclaim it... I've played with a few, <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.analogx.com>AnalogX</A> has a utility claiming to reclaim memory, but i've had no success with it...

    Reboot often, or add more Ram.. it's been my experience that these are the only real options. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    Hope that helps!
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kel_sig.gif>
    Moderator:<font color=448800> Pix Place, Internet Explorer</font color=448800>
    <small>www.kvisions.com

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: reclaiming RAM?

    The problem is not with <font color=red>Microsoft's operating systems</font color=red> but with the way the programs are written, including those from MS. Some just do a better job than others.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Northern, California, USA
    Posts
    1,886
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: reclaiming RAM?

    I believe that the problem occurs on a much greater scale within MS OS's than others...

    Examine for a moment, the architecture of the MS operating system... it's all in Chaos, everything is integrated into the OS itself, as a result, memory allocations are also shared on a regular basis, and it's difficult for any system to track and release them accordingly. I agree that the programs are the cause, but the architecture of the OS also leads to these problems..

    These are, of course, only my <img src=/S/2cents.gif border=0 alt=2cents width=15 height=15>... <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kel_sig.gif>
    Moderator:<font color=448800> Pix Place, Internet Explorer</font color=448800>
    <small>www.kvisions.com

  6. #6
    alterego
    Guest

    Re: reclaiming RAM?

    I use a little program called RamBooster that reclaims memory as you go (you can specify the threshold) and allows a quick reboot. Difficult to quantify its subjective effects, but it's probably prevented some crashes and it hasn't obviously caused any.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: reclaiming RAM?

    My systems all have 64 megs or better. Most do NOT get reboot for a least a week or two. Most reboots are the result of a new SW install or Nortons update. I have NOT had any RAM problems for a long time. Of course I do NOT run any fancy screen savers, but do go in and out most Office app's, IE 6.0, Home Site, Paint Shop Pro, several Family tree types and a couple of CAD CAM programs daily. My computers are on 7/24 except when we are out of town for more than 3 days. Of course I use many other apps when needed.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Northern, California, USA
    Posts
    1,886
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: reclaiming RAM?

    <img src=/S/shocked.gif border=0 alt=shocked width=15 height=15>

    That's amazing, I have to reboot at least twice a day, at 128mb, and doing pretty much all you describe...

    Which OS are you running?
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kel_sig.gif>
    Moderator:<font color=448800> Pix Place, Internet Explorer</font color=448800>
    <small>www.kvisions.com

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: reclaiming RAM?

    Dual boot Windows 98 FE and 2000, I have not been in to 98 for about a month.
    On my lap top Windows Me and XP Pro, mostly XP except when I need to install a new build.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  10. #10
    ileacy
    Guest

    Re: reclaiming RAM?

    I used to have memory related problems at 64MB on my notebook. Basically had to closely monitor real memory use and needed RamPage as a basic tool.

    Have not seen any such problems since I upgraded to 192MB. Other problems, yes, memory related problems, no.

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    180
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: reclaiming RAM?

    With a never-a-reboot record like that, the question of the day is: Where do you go to church?

  12. #12
    alterego
    Guest

    PS

    <P ID="edit" class=small>Edited by DaveA on 31-Aug-01 09:01.</P>Added link code

    And I should have added, the RamBooster program is available (free) from: <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.sci.fi/~borg/rambooster.html>http://www.sci.fi/~borg/rambooster.html</A>

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: PS

    <img src=/S/frown.gif border=0 alt=frown width=15 height=15> went to the site...Finnish I don't read...is there an English version? I just want to read about the program. <img src=/S/doh.gif border=0 alt=doh width=15 height=15>

  14. #14
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: PS

    Hi Lonnie

    The URL that alterego gave us doesn't work for me. I used this:
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.saunalahti.fi/~borg/rambooster/index.htm>http://www.saunalahti.fi/~borg/rambooster/index.htm</A>
    and it's all in English.

    Rambooster is running at the moment, but my 'memory indicator' is jusy about where it always is : just under the middle of the date bar in TClock. Mind you, I do have 384Mb of physical RAM...



    Cheers

  15. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: PS

    <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>Thanks MerC..I got thru to the site...nothing for me...too technical <img src=/S/frown.gif border=0 alt=frown width=15 height=15>

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •