Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Monte Sereno, California, USA
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Frequently Run Programs? (Home Premium/August 08)

    I made a CCleaner run and apparently cleared the Start Menu "Frequently Run Program" List.
    As I run programs, they are not re-appearing in the Start Menu.
    I have followed the HELP instructions and have the Taskbar and Start Menu Properties:
    Privacy ~ "Store and display a list of recently opened programs" CHECKED
    and
    Start menu size = 10 for recent number of programs to display.

    What else do I need to restore?
    and how can I avoid this problem in the future?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Frequently Run Programs? (Home Premium/August 08)

    You might try setting the number to ZERO and OK your way out. Then reset it to 10.

    You can avoid the problem by configuring CCleaner to not clear the Start Menu. Or just don't run CCleaner (which seems a bit extreme if you like CCleaner).

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Monte Sereno, California, USA
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Frequently Run Programs? (Home Premium/August 08)

    > You might try setting the number to ZERO and OK your way out. Then reset it to 10.

    Sorry, that did not work...

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Frequently Run Programs? (Home Premium/August 08)

    After you started CCleaner, it is going (cleaning "most frequently used" shortcuts on your computer) indefinetely.

    There is an option to close the program after cleaning. This may be checked in the Options section.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Frequently Run Programs? (Home Premium/August 08)

    As far as I know, CCleaner does not have a realtime scanning component. It scans and cleans on command.

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Monte Sereno, California, USA
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Frequently Run Programs? (Home Premium/August 08)

    kaplinb,
    Thanks, your suggestion seemed to have fixed my problem.
    That seems to be a weird default on the part of CCleaner,
    especially since it continues after a shut down and restart.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •