Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Printing lables - not on the first label (Access 2007)

    I am trying to find out if you can print a label on a label other than the first one on the page. Mainly if you have already used the labels sheet previously and would like to use the others on the page.

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts

    Re: Printing lables - not on the first label (Access 2007)

    I need a little more info. Are you printing just 1 label, and would like to be able to choose where on the sheet it will print? Or are you printing a bunch of labels, but want to, for example, start printing on the 3rd row.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing lables - not on the first label (Access 2007)

    Mark

    Sometimes it is just one label and sometimes a bunch and yes starting printing on the 3rd row or 3 column first row.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Printing lables - not on the first label (Access 2007)

    Welcome to Woody's Lounge!

    You can do this with a bit of VBA code. MSKB article How to skip used mailing labels and print duplicates in Access 2002 should apply to Access 2007 too.

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing lables - not on the first label (Access 2007)

    Hans,

    I am getting a message that says "The action or event has been block by Disabled Mode"

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Printing lables - not on the first label (Access 2007)

    I don't have Access 2007, but it's probably a Trust Center setting. See if the section "Stop Disabled Mode from blocking a query" in Update data by using a query helps.

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing lables - not on the first label (Access 2007)

    It WORKED!!!! THANK YOU!!! You have no idea how long I have been trying to figure this one out. It has been years and can never get someone to tell how. You are a life saver!

    Thank you,
    Brandy

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Printing lables - not on the first label (Access 2007)

    Great! Glad it worked.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts

    Re: Printing lables - not on the first label (Access 2007)

    Here is a little demo showing how I handle this.

    The user just has to click a button that corresponds with the label they want to start printing from.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Regards
    John



  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Warrington, Cheshire, England
    Posts
    712
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing lables - not on the first label (Access 2007)

    Oh I like that!
    Haven't worked out exactly how it works, yet, but I'm going to pinch it.
    Thanks
    Silverback <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15>
    Silverback

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Warrington, Cheshire, England
    Posts
    712
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing lables - not on the first label (Access 2007)

    Hello John
    Have now worked out how it works and am trying to implement it for a couple of label reports in my DB.
    However, in your form frmPrintLabels there is a line of VB Reports!rptAddressLabels!txtStartPoint = startpoint to pass the selected start point., but it uses the name of your report explicitly. Because I want to implement this for two reports, I can't code the report name in explicitly.
    How can I find out the name of the report which opened the form and what VB is needed to pass back the startpoint, please. (I don't want to have to copy frmPrintLabels (and rename) so there is one form per report if I can possibly help it.)
    Thanks
    Silverback
    Silverback

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts

    Re: Printing lables - not on the first label (Access 2007)

    I am afraid to say that I do what you are trying to avoid - having a separate copy of that form for each different report.

    But I keep the number of reports to a minimum by setting the recordsource of the report when I open it, and using very generic control sources, such as Line1, Line 2.
    That way I can reuse the one set of labels for different purposes.

    But I have just worked out a way to reuse the form. The report passes is own name to the form using Openargs, and this is used by the form as the name of the report to set the value on.
    I attach another demo.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Regards
    John



  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Warrington, Cheshire, England
    Posts
    712
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing lables - not on the first label (Access 2007)

    Thanks, John <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15>
    I can use this. Will report back on success(!) or otherwise.
    I was puzzled about what OpenArgs was/did. It seems to be a method of passing parameters between Access objects. Looks very valuable.
    Thanks again
    Silverback
    Silverback

  14. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts

    Re: Printing lables - not on the first label (Acce

    You are right about OpenArgs - you can use it to pass a piece of information to a form or report, when you open the form or report.

    The object that is receiving the information should check its value when it is opened. If you want to keep it available it is best to assign it to a variable.

    In relation to the labels, I have had some users find that they get a lot of printer jams when they try to print from the middle of a sheet of labels. It seems very printer dependent.
    Regards
    John



  15. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Warrington, Cheshire, England
    Posts
    712
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing lables - not on the first label (Acce

    Just to confirm that everything is working fine, thank you.
    I have two reports, both using the 'where do you want to start' prompt.
    Thanks for your help
    Silverback
    Silverback

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •