Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Relationship (11.8166.8202)

    I am attempting to change a field's data type from one lookup table to another however I keep getting the message that I can't do this because it is part of one of more relationships and for me to first delete the relationships in the relationships window. I have gone to the relationships window ensured all of my tables are reflected in the window. I have clicked on the "show direct relationships" and "show all relationships". Deleted all relationships shown. Saved and exited the relationships window yet I am still getting the same message. What am I overlooking?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Relationship (11.8166.8202)

    If you defined the lookup in the table design, you may have created a hidden relationship. It might be best to create a new field of the desired data type, and use an update query to populate the new field.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Relationship (11.8166.8202)

    Nor is it allowing me to simply delete this field. Am I stuck w/ this field forever?

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Relationship (11.8166.8202)

    Does it help if you perform a compact and repair (in Tools | Database Utilities?)

    If not, create a new database and import all database objects. In the Import Objects dialog, click Options>> and clear the Relationships check box. You should then be able to modify the field.

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Relationship (11.8166.8202)

    Compact and Repair does not help. I will create a new database and import. However, it is really strange that when I show direct relatonships and show all relationships there are no relationships. Yet when I go to print the relationships and get the print preview I can clearly see that there is a relationship between a table and a lookup table.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Relationship (11.8166.8202)

    I suspect that your database has become slightly corrupt. Importing into a new database without the relationships should correct that.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •