Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Secunia PSI (PC3)

    Just ran Secunia, no problems except it keeps trying to insert itself into my startup folder. Winpatrol appears every time and asks me for permission to let it run at startup.I say NO, but It persists on trying no matter what I do.

    It seems the only thing left is to remove Secunia unless someone knows how to stop it. I could use the one that doesn't require installation, that's another alternative.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Secunia PSI (PC3)

    Try this: on the "Settings" tab for Secunia PSI, clear (uncheck) the checkbox for "Start the Secunia PSI on boot." This is also where you can easily double the list of problems by clearing the checkbox for "Show only 'Easy-to-Patch' Programs."

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Secunia PSI (PC3)

    No wonder I couldn't reach your post from the email notice, the topic has been moved.

    I couldn't see the checkbox before, the Win Patrol notice covered it up and couldn't be moved. I opened Secunia 3 or 4 more times and finally got the Win Patrol notice to go away. I found the Settings tab and unchecked the option to let it start ant Windows startup and now every things back to normal.

    Thank you for the swift reply.

    Gloria
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Secunia PSI (PC3)

    <hr>No wonder I couldn't reach your post from the email notice, the topic has been moved.<hr>
    Sorry for the inconvenience. I don't use email notification, so I wasn't aware that the paths were tied to a particular board. I'll try to remember to move posts first before replying.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Secunia PSI (PC3)

    No inconvenience at all, it just required clicking from one link to another. The older I get, the more I forget and it's going to get worse, as you will someday find out.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •