Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Chandler, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    258
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    WGA update problem (sp2)

    I cannot install any updates - I get an error saying WGA tool KB892130 Error code 0x80246008. This has been going on for several weeks and this weekend I decided to try and fix the problem. I followed the following procedure from the MS win website

    "Microsoft Solution provided by another User:

    If the WGA issue occurred when the Windows system has been activated, it was likely caused by one of the following factors:

    1. A security program running background prevents the validation tool from running properly.
    2. The WGA engine was not installed or running properly.

    We can take the following steps and see if the issue can be resolved.

    Step 1: Disable the security programs temporarily
    ==========================
    The following programs can prevent the validation tool from running properly. I suggest we disable them temporarily to test the issue:

    Norton Security programs
    Panda Antivirus programs
    Web Accelarator programs
    Anti-Spyware programs

    If any of the above programs cause the issue, please check if it can be re-configured to accept the WGA ActiveX control. Otherwise, please temporarily disabled to enable the WGA validation tool.
    However, please re-enable the application after we complete the troubleshooting steps.

    Step 2: Install the WGA engine manually
    ==========================
    The WGA engine may have been already installed but is not working properly.
    We can use the following steps to reinstall it. This will ensure the engine files be copied and registered properly.

    1. Download the ActiveX cab file from the following link and then save it to the Desktop.
    http://download.microsoft.com/download/a/c...heckControl.cab

    Open the downloaded cab file and we will find the following three files:

    GWFSPIDGen.dll
    LegitCheckControl.dll
    LegitCheckControl.inf

    2. Click "Start", click "Run", type: "%windir%system32" (without quotations) and press Enter. Copy
    the GWFSPIDGen.dll and LegitCheckControl.dll files into the opened system32 folder.

    3. Click "Start", click "Run", type: "REGSVR32 LegitCheckControl.dll" (without the quotations) and press Enter. We will see a popup message state this process succeeded.

    4. Click "Start", click "Run", type: "inf" (without quotations) and press Enter. Copy the LegitCheckControl.inf file into the opened inf folder.

    5. Right click on the copied LegitCheckControl.inf file in the inf folder, and then choose Install.
    The WGA engine will be installed automatically.

    After we finish the above steps, please restart the computer and try to validate the Windows again.
    "

    I have completed this process successfully after disabling AVG and Zone Alarm. And still get the WGA tool error

    Has anyone figured out anything else to try.

    Tom

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: WGA update problem (sp2)

    Saw this mentioned in a couple of instances regarding this error code.
    -----------------------------------------------------------
    1. Open a new text document on your desktop.
    -right click on desktop
    -point to new
    -point to text document

    2. Copy and paste the following entries into the text document.

    regsvr32 oleaut32.dll
    regsvr32 jscript.dll
    regsvr32 vbscript.dll
    regsvr32 msxml.dll
    regsvr32 softpub.dll
    regsvr32 wintrust.dll
    regsvr32 initpki.dll
    regsvr32 cryptdlg.dll

    3. Save this file as a batch file.
    -click on save as
    -open the drop down box at the bottom to read save as file type: all
    files
    -name of file: BITS_fix.bat (the .bat is creating a batch file)

    4. Run the BITS_fix.bat (double-click)

    5. Now start BITS service. Should start fine and allow all updates.

    .
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Chandler, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    258
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WGA update problem (sp2)

    Bob

    I ran the batch file- got a success on each step.

    Not sure what you mean in the last statement -"Run BTS Service" - I took it to mean run the windows update again

    I reran the windows update procedure out of the Start button and got the same result. Update failed.

    I did not stop Zone Alarm and AVG - is that necessary before running the win update?

    Tom

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: WGA update problem (sp2)

    Tom,
    BITS is "Background Intelligent Transfer Services". In Control Panel>Administrative Tools>Services.
    Check to see that is set on Automatic and Started. If not you can restart it from that same screen.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Chandler, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    258
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WGA update problem (sp2)

    Bob

    I got an error 1058 - says cannot start because no enabled devices are assigned to it - how do I enable a device for it so it can be started?

    Tom

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Joe

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: WGA update problem (sp2)

    Or this LINK probably says the same thing in another way.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Chandler, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    258
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WGA update problem (sp2)

    Bob and Joe

    Thanks I applied the Method 1 in kb956706 and then the install for sp-3 worked, after a restart there were 19 other fixes that had to be applied.

    Everything appears to be OK now

    Thanks for the help

    Tom

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: WGA update problem (sp2)

    Great news!! <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23> Glad you got it worked out. Thanks for posting back.

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •