Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Dubuque, Iowa, USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    I have a strange problem going on

    I am having problems playing a few games, either on or offline. I get lag for about 8-10 seconds then its ok for about 20 seconds, then back to lag. I have changed and updated bios, motherboard drivers, Nvidea drivers and Realtek drivers. The games are Need for Speed Underground, Need for Speed Pro Street, Combat Arms and Hot Rod Garage to Glory. Now whats strange is Halo plays fine, I can turn up the res and graphics ALL the way. But the others....gah !!! I'm even using a new beta driver from Nvidea. Perhaps I haven't thought of the obvious....and ANY ideas will be greatly appreciated !
    System specs
    Processor x86 Family 15 Model 67 Stepping 3 AuthenticAMD ~3013 Mhz
    BIOS Version/Date American Megatrends Inc. 0503, 3/26/2008
    Total Physical Memory 2,048.00 MB
    Available Physical Memory 1.50 GB
    Total Virtual Memory 2.00 GB
    Available Virtual Memory 1.96 GB
    Page File Space 3.85 GB
    Asus M2N-MX-SE plus Motherboard
    Nvidea 8600GT video card
    Realtek HD onboard Audio

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: I have a strange problem going on

    Welcome to Woody's Lounge. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    I'm not a gamer, but what you are describing sounds like a RAM issue.

    What are the system requirements for the games you are having problems with ??? Did they play OK at one time and are now giving you trouble ???
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Dubuque, Iowa, USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: I have a strange problem going on

    i surpass system requirements easily, they've always had this lag issue.
    I just tried changing my RAM sticks also to no avail

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: I have a strange problem going on

    If they have always had the lag issue and you "easily" surpass system requirements, then the only reasonable suggestion I can make is that you add another gig of RAM to the system. Remember that system requirements are usually the minimum and for the software to perform at it's best usually requires a lot more.

    XP will run on 128MB of RAM, but I wouldn't want to use any computer running XP without at least 500MB
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Dubuque, Iowa, USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: I have a strange problem going on

    Total Physical Memory 2,048.00 MB
    this is DDR RAM two sticks at 1Gig each
    shouldn't this be enough ?
    I was told that XP won't recognize more than 2 gigs of RAM
    but then I'm told lots of bogus things <img src=/S/bash.gif border=0 alt=bash width=35 height=39>

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: I have a strange problem going on

    Do you have the latest Download details: DirectX End-User Runtime? Have you checked any threads such as those from tweak xp for gaming - Live Search for XP gaming tweaks?

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: I have a strange problem going on

    How much memory XP can handle depends on whether it's 32-bit or 64-bit Windows XP. The 32-bit version (which I can almost guarantee is the one you have) can hold a maximum of 4GB and the 64-bit version can hold a maximum of 128GB of RAM. How much memory your particular system can hold (up to the limits imposed by XP itself) is also determined by the motherboard in that system.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •