Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Morganville, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Zone Alarm update issue (XP Home SP3)

    A few days ago ZoneAlarm alerted me to an available update to a new version. I installed it, and every since then my pc has been subject to freezes (lockups). I see no alert on the ZoneAlarm site (except to the problems with the July update, which I solved before that was posted with help from this board).

    Is anyone else having this problem? Has anyone solved it?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm update issue (XP Home SP3)

    What version have you installed?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Morganville, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm update issue (XP Home SP3)

    ZoneAlarm Security Suite version 8.0.020.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm update issue (XP Home SP3)

    I installed this yesterday on the XP Pro SP3 PC on which I am typing, and the only problem I've had is the inability to get the logon password box on one occasion. A reboot seemed to 'fix' that.

    The only change I noticed in ZASS 8 as opposed to ZASS 7 is the appearance of the main screen. Nowhere near as fundamental a change as for the new AVG 8 GUI!
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Morganville, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm update issue (XP Home SP3)

    Thanks.

    After my initial post, I tried again to find the ZoneAlarm forum (on its own web site). I succeeded, and it is inundated with people with the same problems I experienced, although I didn't find someone with the pc lockup I experience while using Outlook.

    For ZoneAlarm, that's two strikes (given the July problem with loss of internet access when the upgrade was installed). This is a shame, given that I had been a fan of ZoneAlarm.

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm update issue (XP Home SP3)

    Can you revert to the previous version ?? Either via an image backup or from a saved copy of the earlier version's installation file ?? I don't believe the upgrade is mandatory and a firewall is a firewall (mostly).

    You can download version 6.5.737.000 here. HTH
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm update issue (XP Home SP3)

    .... and you can download most of the older versions up to version 7.0.483.0 here.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Morganville, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm update issue (XP Home SP3)

    Going back is clearly the only path until ZA owns up to and fixes the problem -- just look at the many who have posted to the ZA user groups.

    Can I "go back" by simply using the older version installation executable as an "upgrade"/downgrade, or do I have to do a laborious purging of ZA from my system (uninstall; search out other areas with software modules in use; clean the registry) first?

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm update issue (XP Home SP3)

    You should be able to just shut down and then uninstall ZA from Add/Remove Programs or by using it's own uninstall file and then just install the older version.

    If you wanted to get crazy and do a search and purge and then clean the registry, you could. But if you've been using ZA for awhile then I would suspect that there are all sorts of bits and pieces of the older versions scattered around your system, unless ZA cleans up after itself better than most other programs On the bright side, it's not a Symantec product.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm update issue (XP Home SP3)

    My apologies. I just re-read the thread and realzed that I missed that you are running the full Security Suite and not just the <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> version of the firewall I linked you to. I hope you have the older version of the Security Suite on disk or saved somewhere. If not, I'd suggest you contact ZA support and tell them you want to remove their "update" and get your old version back.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Morganville, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm update issue (XP Home SP3)

    Thanks for both of your messages. I'll get it done somehow. The procedure on the ZA forum calls for removal of everything everywhere and starting over with the older version. C'est la guerre.

    I absolutely agree with your comment about Symantec. although with two update mess-ups in a row, ZA seems to be trying to "catch down" (rather than "catch up") with Symantec.

  12. #12
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm update issue (XP Home SP3)

    Looks like I was lucky, then! (This is no help to you, though, I'm afraid...)
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,162
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm update issue (XP Home SP3)

    I too noticed the same. What I found was that ZASS had changed all of my security settings to high. It also rendered my laptop almost useless. When I uninstalled it using Total Uninstall ( Thanks to the person(s) that told us about that product) <img src=/S/bingo.gif border=0 alt=bingo width=15 height=22> all was back to normal. I reinstalled ZASS and disconnected my wireless, went in and changed the security settings to what I had with the previous version and voila! everything is pretty much back to normal. I say pretty much, because I haven't checked all of the allowed stuff yet.
    I haven't had any crashes or freeze ups either.
    I agree that they have some work to do to straighten this out and have recommended to my cronies not to install it yet.
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  14. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm update issue (XP Home SP3)

    I have seem several "Updates" to different "Protection" programs (including ZA <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15>) where the new settings have been set to "HIGH". I have learned to run through all of the settings and make sure that they have not been changed.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  15. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Morganville, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm update issue (XP Home SP3)

    Thanks. Over time, ZA behaves fairly normally (no more crashes, etc), EXCEPT that when I need to sign in again after being away from the pc, each screen takes over a minute (blank screen > sign-in scrren > password window).

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •