Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Flashing Task Bar (Home Premium)

    My task bar is constantly "flashing" -- not actually. Actually it's being activated - raising - for just a split second. The end result is that it appears to be flashing on and off. Some type of activity is apparently causing it to refresh, or some such thing.

    Is there a way to disable that? It's really distracting to have the bottom of your screen flashing at you all the time.

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Flashing Task Bar (Home Premium)

    Well, here seems to be another one of those "it happens to Chuck" episodes! <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15> What's to disable, Chuck, if we don't know what's flashing? If you have your taskbar set to autohide and you mean that it comes up into view without YOU moving the mouse down to the bottom edge, then "something" must be running in the background that's causing this to happen. I have no idea what to suggest you disable unless I know what you've got running. Of course, you could always TURN OFF the autohide and then the taskbar would stop its flashing. I think more info is required...

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Flashing Task Bar (Home Premium)

    Wow, I had to come back in your defense, Chuck! After I made the post I went Googling and man did I find a lot of company for you! Of course, you may have done that too. Sheesh, there's no telling about this one. Here's one link of MANY that I saw: Taskbar flashing in Vista Business

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Flashing Task Bar (Home Premium)

    Well see there Doc?

    I'm not crazy, just lazy I guess!

    For all the time I've used computers, I think that I sometimes just have something like that happen, and "freak out", not having any idea what it is.

    I figure often that this board has seen most everything in one way or another, and thereby might have a solution.

    I saw several instances of people reporting the problem,, but haven't as yet seen anything that resembles "here's what causes that, so here's how to fix it."

    The hardware and configs all seem to be diverse, so it's not something that canned be readily pinned down. Oh well...

    Thanks Doc.

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Flashing Task Bar (Home Premium)

    Did you read the thread? It reads as though there may be more than one issue. It depends on what YOU have installed on your system.

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Flashing Task Bar (Home Premium)

    Joe, there does seem to be a lot of issues...I may have stumbled onto something though. I think it has something to do with my Kaspersky (v8).

    It could (hopefully) be some slight adjustment there...

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Flashing Task Bar (Home Premium)

    <hr>I think it has something to do with my Kaspersky (v8).<hr>
    Perhaps...... but I've been running KAV 2009 (v. 8.xxx) since it was in Beta on both Vista and XP and never had any anomalies appear of any kind. Of course, I do NOT play with KAV's settings other than changing update frequency, the size of the log files (reports) and the length of time they are kept and under "Threats and exclusions > Settings > Adware and other programs" to enable "Other programs". The default settings are in most every case more than adequate. But, if you have taken the advice of either some alleged "guru" who knows far better how KAV should be setup or tried to "experiment" with the Settings...... this may have caused the problem you are experiencing.
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Flashing Task Bar (Home Premium)

    Jeff:

    Actually KAV is the one program I DON'T mess with at all.

    Oh well, I'll just restore a backup...

    Thanks,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Flashing Task Bar (Home Premium)

    At the risk of getting off-topic and starting a digression which should not be a part of this thread, but which someone might have a quick answer for, Kaspersky has a keylogger-like activity alert (which is probably the wrong wording) which pops up much too often on my computer for comfort, and swiftly disappears. I have a very slow computer and it's possible that others are getting that with a brief enough appearance of those incidents that it looks like nothing more than a flicker. It's a very long shot, but I thought I'd try.

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Flashing Task Bar (Home Premium)

    Pete:

    Thank you! I'll check with Kaspersky.

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Flashing Task Bar (Home Premium)

    I would highly recommend that you post your experience on Kaspersky's own support forum: Protection for Home Users. There you will find a great group of techs who respond quickly. Some of Kaspersky Lab's own engineers participate as well which is a very encouraging sign of Kaspersky's genuine interest in learning and fixing issues with their products. <IMG SRC=http://www.the-highway.com/Smileys/thumbUp2.gif>
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Flashing Task Bar (Home Premium)

    Did that. Thanks Jeff.

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •