Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Beverly, USA
    Posts
    104
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    How much Graphics Memory do I have?

    I'm attempting to assess all the computers in my office to determine which ones could possibly run Vista. When I looked online there were a number of retirements listed to ensure that Vista would run well. Some of these were pretty easy to check (hard drive size, amount of RAM etc.) but I have no idea how to determine how much graphics memory a system has. Any suggestions?
    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,420
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts

    Re: How much Graphics Memory do I have?

    I asked a vaguely similar question in <post#=728,985>post 728,985</post#>, but didn't get a complete answer. You could try one of the "hardware informers" I listed there, or HWINFO32 (see graphic). SIW might be easier if it gives you the results you want because it doesn't need to be installed, simply run.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: How much Graphics Memory do I have?

    Shouldn't you just run the upgrade advisor and see what it says?

    Get Windows Vista: Windows Vista Upgrade Advisor

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Beverly, USA
    Posts
    104
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: How much Graphics Memory do I have?

    Thanks for the suggestion. I can certainly run that utility on all my machines and this will help me identify the ones that need to be replaced should we switch to Vista. I do have one concern though. I don't just want to rely on Microsoft's recommendation, given that several sources suggested that their minimum requirements for Vista weren't adequate.

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: How much Graphics Memory do I have?

    The requirements for Vista will depend on what you want to do with the computers. Vista is very resource dependent to display all it's bells and whistles. If all you want to do is basic computing, the requirements are much less. But I wouldn't try running Vista on an under equipped machine. At least 1 GB of RAM and 2 Gigs would be better and a 128 MB graphic card is minimum for Vista and 256 would be much better. But, as I said, it will depend on what you want to do with the computers.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: How much Graphics Memory do I have?

    It would most likely be better that you look at replacing these XP machines with a Vista made machine. On ALL XP upgraded to Vista machine I have dealt with are NOT up par. I feel that is is a waste of time and money to upgrade any XP built machine to Vista.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: How much Graphics Memory do I have?

    <hr>...a waste of time and money to upgrade any XP built machine to Vista. <hr>
    Aw c'mon, Dave. Rather extremist I would say! Yours is a scare tactic like "Chicken Little, the sky is falling!"

    I have a machine that was built during the "XP regime" and is doing an excellent job with Vista. The Microsoft provided evaluation told me anything I needed to know about hardware, software and drivers. Now, I admit that this machine is only 2 years old, but it pays to run the evaluation and see what it says. Most folks don't need to throw their computers in the bin and buy a new one, just to run Vista. Sorry, I had to get this in here...

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Beverly, USA
    Posts
    104
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: How much Graphics Memory do I have?

    It would certainly make *my* life easier to buy all new machines. However it's my boss's decision-not mine and I have a feeling he'll balk at having to buy 15 new computers. I was kind of hoping to put off upgrading until all the old computers in our office (the oldest is 6 years old) had been retired.

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: How much Graphics Memory do I have?

    Why do you want to upgrade these PCs to Vista, is there something that you cannot do with XP?

    StuartR

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: How much Graphics Memory do I have?

    Again, I would want to know what will be asked of these "new" Vista machines. If they are simply for everyday office work and basic internet access then what would be the reason to upgrade ?? Upgrading would also raise the issue of hardware and software compatability with the Vista OS.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Beverly, USA
    Posts
    104
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: How much Graphics Memory do I have?

    I don't want to upgrade these PCs. There's noting wrong with XP for what we do (We run office, a CRM package, a document management system and a few financial industry specific packages). I don't find myself using the phrase "that problem will go away when we upgrade" because there aren't any problems.

    It's my boss who wants to upgrade because he thinks Vista is cool.

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: How much Graphics Memory do I have?

    The ol' "...gotta have the latest tech toy..." huh?

  13. #13
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Beverly, USA
    Posts
    104
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: How much Graphics Memory do I have?

    That's about the size of it. If you can recommend any articles or studies written to discourage non-tech-savvy managers from switching to Vista I'd appreciate it.

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: How much Graphics Memory do I have?

    Tell your boss to get a Vista machine for HIS office and leave the rest of the workers alone. Unless there is some compelling reason, like a software upgrade from one of your mission critical, third party packages that requires Vista, I'd leave well enough alone.

    Between the compatability issues and the learning curve for any new OS (no matter how small the curve) he's asking for trouble he doesn't need. IMHO, of course.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •