Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger djmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    371
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Server backup and batch files, part deux

    (I considered tacking this on the end of the thread from July about NTBackup and batch files, but it is different enough to not have to reference anything in that thread.)

    I am running Backup Exec for Windows Servers on Windows Server 2003 SP-2; our email program is FirstClass. In order to do a backup without risking data corruption I need to pause the FirstClass mirror before the backup and then continue it after the backup is complete.
    I have created batch files to perform both of these tasks (separately), and they perform successfully when executed either from a DOS command line or from within Windows. So I know the batch files are written correctly.
    But BEWS will sit there for however long the time limit is that I give it, trying to execute the pre-command batch file, and finally times out with this error:

    Starting Pre Job Command < causetest.bat >
    V-79-57344-33232 -
    Error: Pre Job Command did not complete in time.

    Now, I can extend the amount of time BEWS has before timing out, but I have done that and all it accomplishes is to make me wait even longer until the time has expired before I can try something else - the batch file NEVER gets executed by BEWS. Even though I have followed what sketchy instructions have been included with Backup Exec. Apparently these instructions are not totally correct or complete. And it doesn't help that the how-to documents on the Symantec website still use the name VERITAS and only go as far as version 9 or 10 of the product. I can find NO up-to-date documentation covering versions 11 or 12, in any area even close to the functions I am trying to perform.

    Does anyone have any experience in getting Backup Exec to execute pre-and post-backup batch files? I am extremely anxious to learn how to do it!

    The best part of it all is, Symantec doesn't want to help. The company I support is a Non-Profit Organization, and got their copy of Backup Exec through Tech Soup - apparently an OEM copy, and it came without any support. When I call Symantec they will not proceed past that fact; and the company is reluctant to spend more money on a product they already purchased, especially if it doesn't do what it is supposed to do. So here I am in a Catch-22.

    The only documentation I was able to find on the Symantec website that MAY in the end prove helpful is an offhanded reference to "the AT command":

    <hr>The batch file must run successfully with the "AT" command within DOS. This is true of any batch file working in conjunction with Backup Exec.
    Note: Not all batch files that run successfully with AT will work with BackupExec for NT<hr>

    As you can see, the document is an old one, in that it was written for Backup Exec for NT (how old that version might be, I don't want to guess) - but a batch file is a batch file, and I cannot see Symantec going out of their way to accommodate batch files if they consider the functionality to be correct, or legacy.

    So - is anybody up on "the AT command" ? <img src=/S/gramps.gif border=0 alt=gramps width=20 height=20>
    Have a cookie -

    Don

  2. #2
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,421
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts

    Re: Server backup and batch files, part deux

    Don

    The AT command was the olde command line way of setting up a scheduled job to run at a particular time in DOS, long since superseded by the Add Scheduled Task wizard.

    As far as I can see what Symantec are saying is that the BATch job must actually work! This usually means running it under the appropriate level of account, with the correct password, access to networked drives (if relevant) and so on.

    You are then probably running these pre- and post-backup files under the authority of whichever account BackupExec uses, which may be the problem.

    If you could attach the BATch files to a post as a single TXT file, I could have a look and see if anything obvious springs out at me...
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger djmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    371
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Server backup and batch files, part deux

    Will do - I can say, though, that by default Backup Exec uses the server's Admin ID, and that is the same ID that I was using to test-run the batch files.
    Also, I placed the batch files everywhere I could think of on the server - in their own directory, in the Windows directory, in root, and in the Backup Exec directory, in case there was an unspoken requirement that they be located somewhere specific. And I tried both including and excluding the entire path to the file. Of course, none of that worked.
    And the server's Admin ID is identical to the Admin ID of the FirstClass application running on the server.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Have a cookie -

    Don

  4. #4
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,421
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts

    Re: Server backup and batch files, part deux

    That seems fairly comprehensive!

    Can you start Backup Exec from the command line? If so you could forget about pre-job and post-job processing within Backup Exec and do

    @echo off
    D:FCServerFCUtil pause
    start BackupExec job (somehow!)
    D:FCServerFCUtil continue

    or something similar...
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Server backup and batch files, part deux

    >> ...I placed the batch files everywhere I could think of on the server...

    That means if you need to make a change, you have to change them all. Why not batch files all over the place that all call another single, easily findable/editable batch file, say in the root directory?

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger djmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    371
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Server backup and batch files, part deux

    BATcher - wouldn't that cause provblems if there was a delay in executing the Pause?
    I would imagine that, without some kind of countdown between the Pause and the run Backupexec command, that the backup may begin before the mirror is actually paused.

    Leif - that wasn't my plan; I simply kept putting them different places out of frustration, to see if a different location would work. Once I found the right place (if that was the problem) I would just delete all the others.
    Have a cookie -

    Don

  7. #7
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,421
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts

    Re: Server backup and batch files, part deux

    > BATcher - wouldn't that cause provblems if there was a delay in executing the Pause?

    Err, but surely PAUSE imposes a delay? [joke]!

    If you want to cause a 'stay of execution' you can include the command
    PING -n 61 127.0.0.1 > NUL
    where the number 61 means 'wait for 60 seconds before continuing with the next BATch file line'. This number can be any positive integer you like which is greater than zero, and the wait will be for 'integer-1' seconds (if you need to be that precise!).
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •