Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Beverly, USA
    Posts
    104
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    resolution problems with new monitor

    Our company bought a flat screen TV to use as a monitor in a conference room. I hooked the TV up for the first time and tried to find the best resolution setting. So far I've been unsuccessful.

    First I tried to change the resolution through the display properties menu but there were very limited options and all of them looked bad on the screen. (Too small or too big--currently the desktop is bigger than the TV and my desktop icons are the size of post cards.) I tried changing the settings on the TV but the "zoom" option (which seemed like the best way to change the picture size) is grayed out.

    Any suggestions?

    The TV is a Panasonic Viera and the graphics card is an Intel 82945G Express. The computer is an Optiplex GX 620.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: resolution problems with new monitor

    What is the TV model number? What is its resolution?

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Beverly, USA
    Posts
    104
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: resolution problems with new monitor

    The TV is a TH-50PX80U and the resolution is1366x768 (this is not one of the options under Display Properties).

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: resolution problems with new monitor

    Take a look here for a possible driver update solution for the graphics card.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Beverly, USA
    Posts
    104
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: resolution problems with new monitor

    I installed the driver and things look better, but I still can't set the resolution in such a way that the entire desktop is displayed on the screen without it being much smaller than the screen space available.

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Beverly, USA
    Posts
    104
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: resolution problems with new monitor

    In the end I lowered the resolution and set the TV to "zoom" mode and this sort of solved my problem (there's about an inch and a half of black space on either side of the desktop.) But even with the help of Panasonic's tech support and our technical contractor we couldn't get the computer and the computer and the TV to agree on a resolution.

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: resolution problems with new monitor

    Apples and oranges I suppose. <img src=/S/RollEyes.gif border=0 alt=RollEyes width=19 height=19> Did Panasonic say it was supposed to work the way you expected ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •