Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts

    Chromse and the Lounge (Beta)

    I have been using Chrome a bit lately.

    There is one problem I have often. When I reply to a post, Chrome complains that I don't have a subject, even though the default subject is still there.

    When I retry, it lets me make the post.
    Regards
    John



  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Chromse and the Lounge (Beta)

    Hmmm, could be a bug in the Lounge. Or maybe not?

    Unrecognized browsers may not have full functionality in the Lounge. These scripts date back to a time when few browsers understood scripting, so they contain different logic for different browsers. Over the years, the less used parts may not have had all their bugs fixed. Chrome is likely, eventually, to become a recognized browser that is treated similarly to Safari and Firefox. But that might take a while... administrative resources are always stretched.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Chromse and the Lounge (Beta)

    I'm trying a post from Chrome to see if I have the same problem. Here goes...

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Chromse and the Lounge (Beta)

    The first time I used Preview. This time I'll post directly, without a preview.

    Edited to add: Didn't get the complaint you did, John. The only thing I noticed was that it took several seconds longer for the post without preview to render. On the first one, after preview it flashed on the screen immediately. But no complaints about subject or anything.

    Oooh, wait a minute. That was bad! I just hit the Post It button and got the big, black Lounge custom 404 page, saying it couldn't find that URL. Very strange. Claude, anything about Chrome's behaviour that you can see? When I hit the back button, I came here. Lemme see if it works this time...

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Chromse and the Lounge (Beta)

    I'm chroming and replying

    (Official Build 1798
    Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0; en-US) AppleWebKit/525.13 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/0.2.149.29 Safari/525.13)

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Chromse and the Lounge (Beta)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by franklymydear on 12-Sep-08 21:19. Aha! edited to mention post/reply went in without any problems...)</P>Don't know about Claude, but I replied to the initial post without problems, let's test this one, I'll edit it after posting (IF I can figure out how to edit) <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hornsby Heights, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    3,822
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Chromse and the Lounge (Beta)

    The only problem I've found so far with Crome is that Chrome does not adhere to the standard "add to favorites" rules here: <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3timages/display.gif>
    Cheers, Claude.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Chromse and the Lounge (Beta)

    And it IS a beta after all, huh? One thing I noticed is that your beta is a lot more recent than my beta! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> It's only been about a week ago that I downloaded build 1583...

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts

    Re: Chromse and the Lounge (Beta)

    For me the issue has been intermittent. It has happened about 6 times. I tried Previewing first, and I don't think it made any difference.

    I posted this in the "other Browsers" forum because I though it reflected the fact that Chrome was still a Beta. So it was a browser issue rather than a Lounge issue

    My Firefox has not been working on this computer, but now I have uninstalled, download a new version, and all is OK again, so I will go back to Firefox most of the time.
    Regards
    John



  10. #10
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,413
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts

    Re: Chromse and the Lounge (Beta)

    > And it IS a beta after all, huh?

    Surely almost everything Google has done was described as a 'beta' for ages and ages...?
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •