Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Youngstown, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    705
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Switchboard failing (A2K SR-1)

    I am trying to open up a database with a switchboard, and I keep getting errors to the effect "Unable to create object", and when I go into debug the line that is giving me the error is:
    <pre>Set con = Application.CurrentProject.Connection</pre>

    Once I leave the debug screen, the entire Switchboard form is gone, vanished without a trace.

    The file works fine on my pc (where it was developed), but now it is supposed to be being copied to other pc's for general use. Each one that I try gives the same error. Any guesses what the problem may be?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Switchboard failing (A2K SR-1)

    Do the other machines have Access 2000 installed? Do they have the same version of MDAC installed? Have you checked the references on one of the other machines to see if you've got a broken reference? When something like this works in one place and not in another, references are the first place to look. I've had this problem with a client's machine when I copy a database from there and run it on my box. They installed MDAC 2.6 (my advice--Don'!) and I've stayed at 2.5. For some reason, the whole thing breaks when I put it on my machine, even though the 2.5 and 2.6 file names are identical!!
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Youngstown, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    705
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Switchboard failing (A2K SR-1)

    I don't know MDAC -- what it is, or how to check versions -- but the installations were as follows:
    1. <LI>My PC -- A97, upgraded to A2K, then to SR-1; database designed here
      <LI>NT machine -- A2K, never upgraded; database works here
      <LI>New PC's -- A2KSR-1(a?) for initial installation; switchboard errors encountered
    The database was burned onto a CD from my PC. The front end was copied from the CD to the NT machine, reading the back end from the CD, and everything worked well (except for the report layout bug fixed by SR1). This is what I had planned for the new PC's too, until the switchboard vanishing act caught me off guard.

    This isn't just limited to this database. I was helping set up a new DB on another PC (A2K, and I believe SR1a) and the switchboard feature was bugging out with the same error. Detect & repair did nothing to fix the problem.

    In the interim, I could hard-code a set of forms to replace the switchboard, but that doesn't solve the real problem... and I just hate it when computers don't work as expected! <img src=/S/headthrob.gif border=0 alt=headthrob width=15 height=15>

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Switchboard failing (A2K SR-1)

    Did you check the references to see if any were flagged as MISSING? The only other reason for a failure to be able to create a connection object on the CurrentProject would be if you didn't have a reference set to ADO at all, I suppose. But it sounds like the installations themselves were different on the several machines. Besides SR-1a, there are Jet updates and MDAC (ADO) updates that may or may not have been installed on any of the machines. The different versions of ADO have created a lot of headaches, since different versions/revisions came with Office 2000, VB 6, SQL Server 2000 and Windows 2000, and only a couple of them were really right with Office.

    Did you create a setup for the database or did you just copy it only a CD? From your description of reading the backend from the CD, I would suspect the latter. In that case, this is probably a dll problem and you will only be able to solve it by creating a full setup using the Developer's edition because that will insure that the dlls are in sync.
    Charlotte

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Youngstown, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    705
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Switchboard failing (A2K SR-1)

    Should this all be taken to mean that the days of developing a database, spreadsheet, or other type of form on one computer for use on another are slowly drawing to a close? Egad! With all the new pc's in the office, I'm the one being tapped to develop special formats and such for all the non pc-literate users. Should I just run and hide now? <img src=/S/hairout.gif border=0 alt=hairout width=31 height=23> <img src=/S/flee.gif border=0 alt=flee width=25 height=25>

    I also checked on another possible clue to the mystery. I'm running Win98, but all the new pc's are running Win98SE. My pc has been updated from DOS & WFW3.1 to Win95 to Win98, mirroring the HD during upgrades to bigger and faster machines; the new pc's are all original installations. I suspect that even if I upgraded to Win98SE there still would be fundamental differences in the OS & other programs.

    Now back to thinking about solutions... With the new install of Win98SE, and a new install of Office 2000 SR-1a Pro, any thoughts what may be missing or in need of an update to get a newly created database's switchboard to operate? I think that if I can get the switchboard to function at all it will probably take care of all my switchboard problems.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Switchboard failing (A2K SR-1)

    No, but don't expect it to work if you just copy it from one machine to another. Sometimes one measly dll is all that determines whether it succeeds or fails, and the only way around that is to create a setup using the Office developer edition.

    There are a few significant differences in the switchboard code between A97 and A2K, but if you developed the database in A2K, you shouldn't run into problems from them. Office 2K is pretty good about finding references, even in different locations, but it can still be knocked sideways by libraries with entirely different names (i.e., Outlook 98 vs Outlook 2000). Did you find any MISSING references on the non-working machines?

    Most of the apps are not as sensitive to moving between machines as Access is, so databases are going to be the thing you have to watch out for. The fact that it works when copied to an NT machine but not when copied to a Win98 machine suggests that you're missing either a dll or some other library that isn't native to Win98 itself. Figuring out which ones are missing and making sure they get installed is the only suggestion I can make. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    Charlotte

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •