Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cosby, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    WMP 11 (Home Premium)

    I'm having problems with WMP library (songs listed under wrong artist) and unable to burn CD. When I attempt to burn CD the program freezes and screen turns dull. I'm unable to do anything except restart computer. I was able to burn a CD a few weeks ago even though the library wasn't working properly.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,580
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts

    Re: WMP 11 (Home Premium)

    See WMP FAQ: A trouble-shooting guide for Windows Media Player problems. for some general WMP11 hints. wmp11 library corruption - Live Search has many links to check depending on what the issue is with the library. Unfortunately, most solutions seem to involve resetting the library which means rebuilding it.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cosby, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WMP 11 (Home Premium)

    Thanks, Joe. I'm afraid that things that are suggested in the article requires someone who knows more about internal computer operation than I do.
    Ken

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,580
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts

    Re: WMP 11 (Home Premium)

    WMP FAQ: A trouble-shooting guide for Windows Media Player problems. is a link to the section on rebuilding a broken media library. That section contains this link Cumulative update for Windows Media Player 11 in Windows Vista. You need to verify that this patch is applied or go ahead and apply it. Vista will let you know if it is not needed. Then follow the directions in You cannot view, add, or delete items in the library in Windows Media Player 11 to reset the library.

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cosby, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WMP 11 (Home Premium)

    I went to the update and was informed that it does not apply to my system. Also, I've had a reply from SmartComputing magazine (a good magazine that gives free technical help) on how to check if the burner was OK. I've done that and the burner works, so I'm waiting to hear further.
    Ken

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,580
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts

    Re: WMP 11 (Home Premium)

    I was attempting to address your WMP library problem not the burner problem. Does that mean you can now burn using WMP?

    I still appears as though your WMP library is corrupted and will need to be reset.

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cosby, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WMP 11 (Home Premium)

    OK, since the patch is not needed, do I go into WMP to the view, add or delete to reset?

    We've just determined that the burner works, not why not with WMP.

    Ken

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,580
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts

    Re: WMP 11 (Home Premium)

    to reset the library follow the directions in the resolution section of You cannot view, add, or delete items in the library in Windows Media Player 11.

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cosby, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WMP 11 (Home Premium)

    OK, I did it. I opened the library and once rebuilt with the box checked "add files previously deleted from computer" and once with box unchecked. Both times the library lists a song under the wrong artist. I checked to see if the song is in the artists file in my Music file and it does not appear.
    Ken

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,580
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts

    Re: WMP 11 (Home Premium)

    If you find the song with Windows Explorer right click it, select properties, and the details is the correct artist displayed?

    Joe
    Joe

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cosby, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WMP 11 (Home Premium)

    No, Joe. The question is how did the artists get changed. There are a number of these with the incorrect artist that I had previously burned to a CD with the correct artist.
    Ken

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,580
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts

    Re: WMP 11 (Home Premium)

    How is WMP confgured to obtain media information for your library?

    Joe
    Joe

  13. #13
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cosby, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WMP 11 (Home Premium)

    I was able to change a couple of the artists (to the correct one) in the folder and when I tried the 3rd one was unable to do it. The whole line gets highlighted and I can't do anything with it. Also, the incorrect artist shown wasn't even in the computer when the CD was burned.
    Ken

  14. #14
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cosby, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WMP 11 (Home Premium)

    If I understand you correctly, -My Personal Folders, UsersKenMusic
    Ken

  15. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,580
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts

    Re: WMP 11 (Home Premium)

    Sorry, I wasn't clear enough. I meant if you start WMP, then go to Library | More Options then on the Library tab in the "Automatic media information udpate for files" section which options are selected?

    Joe
    Joe

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •