Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Partition Manager

    A <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> partition manager - Norton Partition Magic alternative freeware - FREE EASEUS Partition Manager Home Edition. For Win2k, 32-bit XP, & 32-bit Vista.

    Joe
    Joe

  2. #2
    Lounger Slide-Rule's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Ohio. Home of The Ohio State Buckeyes.
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Partition Manager

    Joe
    Thanks for the information on EaseUs. Seeing that this is new, is there a track record/referral or any Lounge members who have used it? I am looking to resize C drive but prefer not to be a pilgrim.

    I do see one poster on TuCows who liked it.
    Al

    Problems worthy of attack prove their worth by fighting back.
    Paul Erdos

  3. #3
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts

    Re: Partition Manager

    There's an open-source partition manager called gparted which (also?) boots from CD.

    I'd like a free one, guaranteed to work, on Windows Server 2003 (including RAID 5 disks)...! (The EaseUs server variant is considerably cheaper than the Partition Manager equivalent, but in either case it's a matter of courage...)
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Partition Manager

    I don't recall this being mentioned before in the Lounge. If you are nervous about it there are the other more usual suspects - Paragon Partition Manager, Acronis Disk Director, & Norton PartitionMagic.

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Partition Manager

    What O/S do you have? XP Pro has appropriate built-in tools for the job.

    Alan

  6. #6
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts

    Re: Partition Manager

    Alan

    Care to elaborate? You can move partition boundaries on a hard disk without having to back up any data?
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Partition Manager

    I can't see a requirement to specifically move a partition boundary, just "to resize C drive". If this were to be done by adding a logical partition to (physical) C: then DiskPart may be all that's needed:

    "DiskPart to extend basic or dynamic volumes, add or break mirrors, assign or remove a disk's drive letter, create or delete partitions and volumes, convert basic disks to dynamic disks, or convert master boot record (MBR) disks to GUID partition table (GPT) disks, import disks and bring offline disks and volumes online. "

    Alan

  8. #8
    Lounger Slide-Rule's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Ohio. Home of The Ohio State Buckeyes.
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Partition Manager

    Joe
    The Elder Geek is now using PartitionExpert an Acronis Disk Director program. I was attracted to the new entry re EaseUs due to its apparent simplicity

    Batcher
    I'd also like a free one, Yes GUARANTEED ...

    Allen
    I have Windows XP Home SP2 with several partitions on one drive. C: was allocated too little space so now I have a decision, but have been delaying making it.
    I have found http://support.microsoft.com/kb/325590 for Diskpart.exe

    I am risk adverse with computer solutions unless information comes from a very trusted source. Looks like a little more time re-reading. Every time I try something new, I also learn something new.
    Al

    Problems worthy of attack prove their worth by fighting back.
    Paul Erdos

  9. #9
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts

    Re: Partition Manager

    Alan

    To be honest, I would reckon that DiskPart (also on XP Home) has so many limitations as to render it virtually useless.

    For example, to extend a partition:

    "You can use the Diskpart.exe utility to manage disks, partitions, and volumes from a command-line interface. You can use Diskpart.exe on both Basic disks and Dynamic disks. If an NTFS volume resides on a hardware RAID 5 container that has the capability of adding space to the container, you can extend the NTFS Volume with Diskpart.exe while the disk remains a Basic disk.

    Use the extend command to incorporate unallocated space into an existing volume while preserving the data.

    The following are the requirements for the extend command (my underlining):
    The volume must be formatted with the NTFS file system.
    For Basic volumes, the unallocated space for the extension must be the next contiguous space on the same disk.
    [...]
    Only the extension of data volumes is supported. System or boot volumes may be blocked from being extended, and you may receive the following error:
    Diskpart failed to extend the volume. Please make sure the volume is valid for extending
    You cannot extend the partition if the system page file is located on the partition. Move the page file to a partition that you do not wish to extend."

    How far would it get with extending my D: partition (Windows Server) into my F: partition (data), would you reckon? <img src=/S/brickwall.gif border=0 alt=brickwall width=25 height=15> (And no, I wasn't responsible for the bizarre partition implementation!)
    Attached Images Attached Images
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Partition Manager

    Does that mean your were irrepsonsible in the bizarre partition implementation? <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

    Joe
    Joe

  11. #11
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts

    Re: Partition Manager

    In a way, because I hadn't joined the charity when this abomination was perpetrated!
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  12. #12
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Partition Manager

    If you hurry, you can grab EASEUS Partition Manager Professional Edition 2.0 for <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15>. But just for today!

    Alan

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Partition Manager

    Thanks to both of you. I've downloaded both the free AND the Pro that's free only for today. In case anyone asks, the only thing I could see on the Easus site that compares them says that the Pro version includes 64 bit and making of a bootable CD/DVD. ( EASEUS Partition Manager )

    I'm already in learning mode with Paragon's Pro version over here ( <post:=733,839>post 733,839</post:> ) so I'll just install the Easeus Pro and let it sit there for awhile.

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Partition Manager

    I lied! I installed the free Pro version and I just had to see about changing cluster size, since that's the subject of my effort with Paragon. Easeus says it will, but I can't find out how or where!
    <hr>Key Features:

    * Support hardware RAID.
    * Resize and move partitions without losing data.
    * Create, delete and format partitions with simple step.
    * Label partitions - assigned to a partition for easier recognition.
    * View Disk/Partition property of each partition.
    * Hide and unhide partitions - protect important data from unauthorized or casual access.
    * Set an active partition - specify one partition to be the boot partition.
    * Preview the effects of partitioning a hard drive before implementing anything.
    * Change cluster size automatically and manually.
    * Support hard disks from 1 GB to 1 TB.
    * User-friendly interface. <hr>

  15. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Partition Manager

    Unfortunately the cluster size change feature does not work on NTFS partitions. See How to resize a Windows Server 2003 partition? Any Windows Server 2003 partition software? (the paragraphs after step 7 in the "How to resize Windows Server 2003 partition section"

    "In step 6, you can also resize FAT32/NTFS partition of Windows 2003 Server by specifying new values in the Unallocated Space Before, Partition Size, and Unallocated Space After text boxes. The values you type may change slightly to values supported by your drive's geometry.

    To make a partition smaller, the partition of Windows 2003 Server must contain unused space. To enlarge a partition of Windows 2003 Server, there must be free space adjacent to it. If desired, click the Cluster Size drop-down list and select a new size or use the recommended cluster size that is already selected. This option is only active in FAT, FAT32, but inactive in NTFS."

    Joe
    Joe

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •