Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Posts
    708
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Clearing Data Entry Form on New choice (2007)

    I have a data entry form to enter student's in a class. There is an unbound combo box with all the classes and the form i set for data entry so that it opens with only a blank record to add students.
    BUT- how can I get it after I finish the first class entry, and choose the next class from the combo box to go back to a blank form to start adding the next class?
    I am sure there is a simple way to do his, but I am stumped
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts

    Re: Clearing Data Entry Form on New choice (2007)

    Depends a bit on exactly how you have done it.

    Is the form set to only show students enrolled in the selected class? In that case me.requery should do what you want. You could put that in the after update event of the combo.
    Regards
    John



  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Posts
    708
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Clearing Data Entry Form on New choice (2007)

    The form opens in data entry so it does not show the existing records. When I enter a student in the form, the after update code pulls the class from the unbound combo box and enters the class in the underlying table. I want to get to a data entry form each time I choose a different class in the unbound combo box

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts

    Re: Clearing Data Entry Form on New choice (2007)

    If the form data source is query that uses the combo as a parameter, then existing records would disappear after a requery.

    The easiest way to do it though is to use a form and subform. Combo box on the main form, data entry on the subform, and have them linked by a master/child field.
    Then what you want will happen automatically, and the class will be entered automatically without any code.
    Regards
    John



  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Posts
    708
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Clearing Data Entry Form on New choice (2007)

    You are correct, but there are some other things being done when they are entered into the class which is why I did it this way, I might have to change it to main subform, depending which issue is more significant to the person doing data entry.
    Thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •