Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Vista Ult home network

    I am running Vista Ult on 2 computers.My desktop and also an old Laptop [Asus F3E series] I have them connected using a cross over cable and all works fine.
    But I can't get the lap top to connect to the internet through the network.It will connect on its own.
    I am using a wireless usb modem.
    I have run windows network diagnostics with the reply [There is still a problem limited connectivity]

    Gus..

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    633
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Vista Ult home network

    Gus,

    >> I am using a wireless usb modem. <<

    If it has wireless capabilities, are you sure it isn't really a combined modem/router? What is the make and model? Who is your Internet Service Provider?

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista Ult home network

    John Jones.
    What I meant by wireless usb is that my internet is wireless.I live out in the back blocks I get dial up or wireless no broadband or cable.I think the trouble my be permissions and the help files are no use as they assume you know things you don't.
    Well at least I don't . Dose anybody know a site ware they explain them in plain English?
    Gus..

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    633
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Vista Ult home network

    >> What I meant by wireless usb is that my internet is wireless. <<

    Once again: what is the make and model of your modem? We need to know if USB is the only connection available on the LAN side of the modem. I take it by "wireless" you mean a satellite-based Internet Service Provider, or the like?

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista Ult home network

    John.
    See below for model of usb.
    I connect to the internet through the mobile phone network [cell phone to you guys I think]
    HUAWEI Mobile Connect - 3G Modem #2 (COM6)

    Gus..

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    633
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Vista Ult home network

    Gus,

    >> HUAWEI Mobile Connect - 3G Modem #2 <<

    Take another look at it. I found some info on Huawei devices, but I don't think you've found the exact model number yet.

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista Ult home network

    John.
    the model is an E196G.
    The thing is if I use my laptop as the server for my network it all works and as far as I can tell all the settings are the same.
    So the modem allows more than one connection.
    Gus..

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    633
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Vista Ult home network

    URL made clickable by HansV

    Gus,

    I think what you need is called a mobile or wireless router, like this one:

    http://www.netcomm.com.au/products/3g/n3g002w

    Your particular Huawei device isn't listed as one that will work with this router, so you'd need to find a different make or model router.

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista Ult home network

    Thanks john.
    I checked one out at my local computer shop.
    They run at about AUD$160.00 money well spent .
    I would never have thought to go down that road.

    Thanks for all your time and help.

    Gus..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •