Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Word 2000 (SR-1)

    I would like to take infomation from one document and
    place it in another but have not figured out how. Can
    do it from Access to Word but not Word to Word. Can
    this be done??

    <img src=/S/dizzy.gif border=0 alt=dizzy width=15 height=15>

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Burlington, KS, USA
    Posts
    209
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word 2000 (SR-1)

    The Clipboard can be used to take information from one document to another; simply select the text to be copied, press Ctrl+C, place the cursor in the new document where you want to insert the information, and press Ctrl+V.

    You can also use Insert, File to insert the contents of one Word document into another.
    The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the position or opinion of WCNOC.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word 2000 (SR-1)

    Thanks lonelywind. Currently that is what is done. Copy and Paste.
    Trying to come up with a less time consuming way. Want to come up
    with a way like mail merge. Put certain info from one document and
    merge it into the field of another.

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Burlington, KS, USA
    Posts
    209
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word 2000 (SR-1)

    Ah, now I understand. I believe that could be accomplished using a macro, if the data is bookmarked so that it is easily accessible. The macro would have to open the source document, get the value(s) from the appropriate fields, and then open the target document, and place those value(s) in the appropriate areas. For this to work, the source document(s) will have to be consistent (using a template to generate them would be advisable).
    The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the position or opinion of WCNOC.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word 2000 (SR-1)

    Yes, it would be a template being used as it will
    pretty much always be the same report. So what
    steps would the macro contain?

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Oklahoma, Oklahoma, USA
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word 2000 (SR-1)

    When taking information from Access to Word, were you using a table from Access and merging to Word? or were you "Publishing" to Word from Access? If you are doing a genuine merge you would create a data source in Word that is much like the Access table. If that is what you're after, no macro would be necessary and you would use the mail merge feature.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word 2000 (SR-1)

    Actually I merge the info from a query in Access to
    Word Fields. A genuine merge is what I am after
    between the 2 word docs., keeping in mind that
    the info in the data source changes weekly.

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word 2000 (SR-1)

    Are the same word documents used each time? You could use the Insert File Option which has the opportunity to link rather than embed - click the down arrow on the Insert button (Insert file dialog box). Does that help? <img src=/S/hello.gif border=0 alt=hello width=25 height=29>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •