Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Norland, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Error message (XP Home SP3)

    Yesterday I installed FireFox 3. Then I cloned my hard drive. Today when booting up the cloned hard drive I get this message:
    "Error loading Crogra~1MYWEB~1bar1.binM3plugin.dll. The specified module could not be found."
    What does that mean? The computer seems to be working normally.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Error message (XP Home SP3)

    It's part of the MyWebSearch search toolbar that is generally described as spyware. Please run a thorough scan with one or more anti-spyware programs such as
    Spybot Search & Destroy
    Malwarebytes Anti-Malware
    Lavasoft Ad-Aware
    Windows Defender
    (all free)

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Norland, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error message (XP Home SP3)

    Thanx Mucho Hans. I ran a full scan using my Bit Befender a/v program and it came up clean. Since I don't have or use a MyWeb program I'll just ignore the error message.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Error message (XP Home SP3)

    You could search the Windows registry for references to mywebsearch and to mp3plugin.dll, in particular in
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESoftwareMicrosoftWindowsCurrentV ersionRun
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESoftwareMicrosoftWindowsCurrentV ersionRunServices
    HKEY_CURRENT_USERSoftwareMicrosoftWindowsCurrentVe rsionRun
    HKEY_CURRENT_USERSoftwareMicrosoftWindowsCurrentVe rsionRunServices
    Delete such entries.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Norland, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error message (XP Home SP3)

    Thanks but No thanks. Registry country is somewhere I fear to tread.

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Norland, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error message (XP Home SP3)

    As a follow up to my previous posts: What gives with SpyBot Search & Destroy. I googled the site and it advertised FREE download so I tried that route and it ran a scan and found some 255 "baddies" and then said to clean them up I had to register, so I started the registration process only to find they BIG Bucks to install the program. The icon had appeared on my desktop but clicking on it sent me back to the same "please PAY first" message.

    How can they advertise a FREE program and then say "PAY UP FIRST"????

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Error message (XP Home SP3)

    Are you sure that you followed the link I posted? Spybot Search & Destroy is completely free.

    Asking for money to repair infections is one of the telltale signs of fake anti-spyware programs.

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Error message (XP Home SP3)

    Check out their tutorial to see if you are doing anything incorrectly.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Norland, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error message (XP Home SP3)

    I don't know what I have unleashed now but it is TROUBLE in Spades. I followed the link Hans suggested to SpyBot Search and Destroy and it took almost two hours to complete it's scan. Several BAD items were detected and subsequently removed. I rebooted and now am faced with an almost Full Screen window that says the computer is virus infected and to activate my A/V program, but when I click on the button nothing happens. I can't remove window using Ctrl-Alt-Delete. My desktop icons do show up through this foreign window and I was able to get to THe Lounge. Now my keyboard is very intermittent. I am going to shut this hard drive down and revert to a prior drive.

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Error message (XP Home SP3)

    Did the link you clicked in the Google search results look like the attachment ?? And did it take you to this page ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Error message (XP Home SP3)

    For got the attachment. <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15>
    Attached Images Attached Images
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Norland, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error message (XP Home SP3)

    YES. That is the link I used and the program came up just as you show it. I don't know of any way to display the end result I described above. Anyway I'm back to a working hard drive now and will just ignore the error message that first popped up as in my original post.

    Thanx for all the help.

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Error message (XP Home SP3)

    Wrong link, wrong program. The entry below that one is the one you wanted.

    When we post links to something we are referring to here in the Lounge, it is usually best to follow them rather than attempting to find the information or program on your own. You have just found out why. <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15> If you follow the link that Hans posted you will be able to download Spybot S&D for <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> and if you follow the link I posted to their tutorial, you should have no trouble installing & running it.

    As for your "other" hard drive, it can be "fixed" I'm sure, but that may require some work. If you're not concerned about the data loss then you might want to format it and use it for storage or reinstall Windows and keep it as a backup.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  14. #14
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Norland, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error message (XP Home SP3)

    Thanx again Doc. Sometime ago, a year or more, I had used SpyBot S&D quite successfully so I was no stranger to it this time around. I did browse through the tutorial and proceeded with a full scan. It turned up several items that they red flagged so I clicked on the "Correct or Fix" button and all except 4 items were cleared and the message said that the rest would go when I rebooted. It was after the reboot that things got weird. There was this screen-wide overlay window in RED that warned of infections and that I should click on the button to activate my anti-virus program. I clicked and nothing happened, what's more there was no way I could clear that red window. It was, as I mentioned before somewhat transparent and I could see and use my desktop icons but there was NO WAY to clear the Red window. Before I go on I am wondering why my anti-virus program "Bit Defender" did not catch the items that S&D picked up. I have been using Bit Defender for about 3 years quite satisfactorily.

    Regarding my hard drives: They are in removable bays. There are two slots in the tower and using a Symantec Ghost floppy I am able to clone a mirror image of the hard drives, including all data and operating systems. I use this regularly to create a backup of everything. Fortunately for me before all the confusion arose I had backed up the hard drive so all I had to do was remove the troublesome HD and replace it with a good one.

    Once again let me express my appreciation for ALL the good things you guys in The Lounge have done for me over the years. Thank you.

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Error message (XP Home SP3)

    Maybe I'm confused. The link in my screenshot has a red arrow pointing to the link for a program called Search & Destroy. If that is what you downloaded and installed (the reason I posted the link to the program's downlaod page was so you could verify this) then you got the wrong program and it could very well have been the cause of your problem.

    As Hans said, if a supposedly free program asks you for money to remove what it has found after it has done a scan it is very likely malware itself. If you can uninstall the program from that HD it might resolve the issue, but until you try there is no way to know. If, however, you are content with things as they are then I will not make any further suggestions. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •