Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    update Service Pack 1 (Vista Home Premium)

    I manually downloaded all the September updates except the windows Service Pack 1. When you start downloading, there is an agreement that you need to agree with that pops up before downloading the Service pack 1. Why is that? Why is this the only agreement popup ( Service Pack 1)that you need to agree with before downloading out of all the updates? Do I need it updated to my PC? Will not hurt my PC? Thanks

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: update Service Pack 1 (Vista Home Premium)

    I don't remember if I was presented with an agreement so I don't know why MS did that. I can only guess that it's because the Service Pack IS a major upgrade to the OS. I can tell you what you will hear from most here in The Lounge: do the service pack. I didn't have any problem doing the install or afterward. I think that will be echoed a lot here.

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: update Service Pack 1 (Vista Home Premium)

    DO IT, Max.
    Like Al said, it's a major update. Works fine! <img src=/S/thinks.gif border=0 alt=thinks width=15 height=15>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: update Service Pack 1 (Vista Home Premium)

    I also recommend installing it. However, I'd recommend that you download the full installation version Download details: Windows Vista Service Pack 1 Five Language Standalone (KB936330) and burn it to a CD or DVD. That way if you ever need to reinstall it you'll already have it and not have to download it again. I've also read of some issues that appeared to be resolved when people used the full install.

    NOTE: since it is a significant update you should also do a complete backup of your system before installing it.

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: update Service Pack 1 (Vista Home Premium)

    One problem that certain among us encountered was that the Help files had to be updated separately.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: update Service Pack 1 (Vista Home Premium)

    Yep. I remember that. I was not specifically referring to that but to installation problems that 'majically' disappeared when the full install was used.

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: update Service Pack 1 (Vista Home Premium)

    Thanks, I just downloaded Service Pack 1, it took longer than the regular updates and I noticed that it had 14 % more memory after installation,,,73% up to 87% on PC Health and Security. Thanks for the heads up.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: update Service Pack 1 (Vista Home Premium)

    You're welcome. Glad it went well. Thanks for posting back.

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: update Service Pack 1 (Vista Home Premium)

    On this thread, I posted that I downloaded the Service Pack 1 and noticed that memory jumped from 73% up to 87%,,,,I had my PC for about a year and half and memory was 78% and dropped to 73% which is not bad at all,,,,but when I had 87% about two weeks ago,,, it dropped at an astounding 6% to 81% from 87% after downloading Service Pack 1,,,why is it plummeting rapidly? Please help,,,,I have a Vista Home Premium and my girls watch TV on the monitor but no recordings which causes it to drop. They have been watching the TV on the monitor for a long time without any problems. What can be the culprit? Or is the memory increase a fake after all?

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: update Service Pack 1 (Vista Home Premium)

    What I would be concerned about is why 78%-81% of your RAM is being used in the first place. <IMG SRC=http://www.the-highway.com/Smileys/wow1.gif> How much RAM do you have installed? IF you have 2 gigs, then I would be looking to remove lots of items that run at Startup and/or programs running in the background. If you don't have at least 2 gigs (3 to 4 gigs is better even), then I would definitely be adding some of that stuff. <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15>
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  11. #11
    Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: update Service Pack 1 (Vista Home Premium)

    Jeff, Misunderstanding here,,,78% -81% of my RAM is not used,,,it is free. What I meant was it dropped from 87% free memory to 81% free memory in two weeks after I downloaded the Service One pack. Before the download I had 73% free and after the download, it went up to 87% free and now it went back down to 81% free as of now. Why is it going down 6 % in two weeks? Thanks

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: update Service Pack 1 (Vista Home Premium)

    Vista has a feature to preload programs after it tracks your usage patterns. I suspect that the usage data got reset when you installed SP-1 and is being updated as you use your system. Also, Vista will not automatically free memory when you quit a program. It keeps a memory map and marks the memory as available to be used. Then Vista only reuses the memory when it needs the memory. By keeping things in memory wherever possible Vista will perform better for you.

    BTW, I'd never worry about a system where more than 20% of RAM is available. Using RAM is a good thing unless you are causing pagefile usage frequently.

    Joe
    Joe

  13. #13
    Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: update Service Pack 1 (Vista Home Premium)

    Thanks Joe, guess I should not worry about it then.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •