Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Interrupting ShutDown.exe (XP SR3)

    Is there a way for a user to interrupt the shutdown/restart process using Shutdown.exe?

    I thought I had done so in the past.
    My DOS Batch file reads:<pre><font color=blue>Title - Shut down the computer system

    ShutDown.exe -r -t 30

    REM END</font color=blue></pre>

    My idea being to re-boot the computer, but if I am sitting at the computer,
    I have 30 seconds in which to interrupt the batch process and NOT reboot.
    I run the batch file, see the timer countdown, but cannot interrupt it.

    I have read the following threads:
    Shutdown shortcut (Home, SP2)
    <post:=534,876>post 534,876</post:>
    Time switches for shutdown.exe do not work (XP SP2)
    <post:=402,805>post 402,805</post:>
    Batch File or (WinXp Pro)
    <post:=340,189>post 340,189</post:>
    desktop shortcuts (WinXP)
    <post:=154,367>post 154,367</post:>

    I should add that at this stage I am not looking for an alternative to ShutDown.exe, as the client wants only "pure" Windows XP component parts.

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Interrupting ShutDown.exe (XP SR3)

    I don't know, but if the batch is finished, the only thing would be to run:

    shutdown.exe ľa

    But I assume you know this very well; and since the other command has been run it's not about interrupting a batch file but to abort the shutdown, which is only done by executing the same command again with the abort switch.

    A batcher perhaps know how that could be knitted together with the original batch file. Perhaps it's possible to create a countdown "inside" the batch that is possible to interrupt before your command. Should be a piece of cake for you script & batch gurus. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Interrupting ShutDown.exe (XP SR3)

    >shutdown.exe ľa
    >But I assume you know this very well;
    Thanks, Argus; yes I saw that.

    After I posted, I sat down and thought.
    Perhaps I am remembering a similar commands from pre-XP days, Win95 or even 3.x.
    I have a dim memory of having to change my Shutdown procedures at some stage; obviously towards WinXP.

    I dug up the (attached) old batch file which indicates I was using a different technique in 2001.
    Perhaps that was interruptible with a Ctrl-Break or similar.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,413
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts

    Re: Interrupting ShutDown.exe (XP SR3)

    <hr>I run the batch file, see the timer countdown, but cannot interrupt it.<hr>
    No, but have you tried starting another Command Prompt window, and typing SHUTDOWN -a ? Works for me! YkmMV...

    You could set up an shortcut with a desktop icon you can just click on to do the Shutdown -- and another one to abort the Shutdown!

    PS In your example "Shutdown -r" does a reboot, whereas "Shutdown -s" does the shutdown you seem to be talking about.
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Interrupting ShutDown.exe (XP SR3)

    >typing SHUTDOWN -a ? Works for me! YkmMV...
    Yes, and it works for me too.
    Part of my exploration was to confirm that ShutDown.exe can be interrupted.
    My confusion arose from remembering (I thought) that a Ctrl-Break would do the trick.

    >In your example "Shutdown -r" does a reboot
    And Yes again. I was using "Shutdown" more as a generic name for a process of -r/-s; that is, wanting to interrupt the ShutDown.exe, whatever it wa sdoing.

    >YkmMV
    ????? <img src=/S/please.gif border=0 alt=please width=31 height=23>

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Interrupting ShutDown.exe (XP SR3)

    >YkmMV

    Your kilometrage May Vary

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Interrupting ShutDown.exe (XP SR3)

    Thanks, Hans.
    But
    "kilometrage"?
    (rhymes with OutRage! <img src=/S/weep.gif border=0 alt=weep width=21 height=16> )

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Interrupting ShutDown.exe (XP SR3)

    It's a batcherian variation on mileage, perhaps I should have spelled it kilometreage?

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Interrupting ShutDown.exe (XP SR3)

    We need a Smilie for "I am hopelessly outgunned and am retreating on all fronts".
    Now, where's my ShutDown.BAT ....?
    Oh! here it

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •