Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    2,832
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 110 Times in 104 Posts

    Missing TS-type commands from AdminPak (WS 2003 R2)

    I may be missing something (in fact I am!), but having installed Windows Server 2003 Service Pack 2 Administration Tools Pack I was expecting to have available to me on my XP Pro workstation all the Terminal Services command-line utilities, like RESET, TSDISCON, LOGOFF and QUERY.

    In fact the commands missing are: CHANGE, CPROFILE, FLATTEMP, QUERY, REGISTER and TSPROF, of which the only one I really need is QUERY! (Curiously, its predecessor QWINSTA is available, and the help information it produces is for QUERY SESSION).

    Can anyone tell me whether there is a further 'Terminal Services' AdminPak, which I haven't managed to find yet?

    Thanks!
    BATcher

    Dear Diary, today the Hundred Years War started ...

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,554
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 614 Times in 550 Posts

    Re: Missing TS-type commands from AdminPak (WS 2003 R2)

    Have you checked Managing remotely with the Windows Server 2003 Administration Tools Pack tools? Looks to me like you are expected to use Terminal Services Admin (tsadmin.exe).

    Joe

  3. #3
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    2,832
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 110 Times in 104 Posts

    Re: Missing TS-type commands from AdminPak (WS 2003 R2)

    <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20> Not sure I follow you - TSADMIN is the management GUI, nothing to do with command line utilities, surely?
    BATcher

    Dear Diary, today the Hundred Years War started ...

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,554
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 614 Times in 550 Posts

    Re: Missing TS-type commands from AdminPak (WS 2003 R2)

    I looks to me as though MS expects you to use the GUI as opposed to command line tools. I don't know what you are trying to accomplish so I thought the GUI was just fine.

    Joe

  5. #5
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    2,832
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 110 Times in 104 Posts

    Re: Missing TS-type commands from AdminPak (WS 2003 R2)

    Joe

    You may not have looked closely at my second link in the original post, which lists quite a number of TS commands that can be used from a command prompt!

    In a BATch file, I am intending to examine (and terminate) any terminal sessions linking to our main database which are left 'hanging around' overnight. Working with the database (backup, compaction, index rebuild, etc) cannot happen if any TS session has the database open. Hence my interest!

    I will have to do all BATch file development within a TS session, wherein all these commands are available. Just a bit of hassle...
    BATcher

    Dear Diary, today the Hundred Years War started ...

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,554
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 614 Times in 550 Posts

    Re: Missing TS-type commands from AdminPak (WS 2003 R2)

    Can't the batch file run on the server? The command utilities should be there. They are on my Win 2003 SP-2 servers.

    Did you upgrade from an older version or just install the SP-2 version from scratch? Perhaps uninstalling the SP-2 admin pack, installing the SP-1 admin pack, & then install the SP-2 version would retain the tools.

    Joe

  7. #7
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    2,832
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 110 Times in 104 Posts

    Re: Missing TS-type commands from AdminPak (WS 2003 R2)

    Yes, I will eventually run it on the server, but for the usual ease-of-use/remote-administration reasons I wanted to test it initially using my PC.

    I may try copying the QUERY.EXE file from the server to my own PC, just to see if it works there...!
    BATcher

    Dear Diary, today the Hundred Years War started ...

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing TS-type commands from AdminPak (WS 2003 R2)

    Did copying query.exe work? Albeit late in the game, had you thought about sharing the folder the executables were stored in, and referencing the shared folder in your BATch file?
    ____________________________
    Jeremy
    "If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, then you will be hacked. What&#39;s more, you deserve to be hacked." -Richard Clarke

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •