Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Power Failures (XP SP3)

    Although hardware related, this is an XP question. In my system properties, I have the "restart" box unchecked and I think it was the default if memory serves me. I've thought it was a good idea to do so just in case a short power failure repeated it self two or more times - saving "jolts" to the system hardware. Well, that hardly ever happens around here ( <img src=/S/crossfingers.gif border=0 alt=crossfingers width=17 height=16> ) but we do occasionally have short power interrupts of only a minute or two or three.

    My question is: if I were to check off that restart box to ALLOW the system to reboot after a failure, the OS would obviously get to the Welcome Screen and then sit there waiting for a logon. In THAT limbo zone, would a scheduled task such as a middle of the night incremental backup still take place, even if no one is logged on? I'm pretty sure Shadow Protect is installed for "all users" but I don't know if XP would honor that service if not logged on. (I'm thinking I'm recalling something from Win98 days.)

    PS I don't have an APC as I've never felt the need because of the low occurrence of power failures.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Power Failures (XP SP3)

    Al,
    If I'm not mistaken, I don't think that setting has anything to do with power failures. I think that setting applies to a "blue screen" incident. If the switch was set to "restart", the blue screen (with any relevant information) would only be displayed briefly and then the computer would reboot. I believe that in the event of a power failure, you will have to physically power the machine on again, regardless of the "restart" setting.

    I'm sure someone will correct me if I'm wrong.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  3. #3
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts

    Re: Power Failures (XP SP3)

    I agree with John!
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Power Failures (XP SP3)

    Hmmmm, I had no idea of that. Well, where is it that one can tell the machine to restart if the power is interrupted? Is it in the BIOS? I'm pretty sure my other machine (which is down for repairs now) restarts itself after a power failure and it runs XP Pro as opposed to Media Center Edition here on this Dell. Hmmm...

    I guess I should leave well enough alone becuase I've been running Shadow Protect for a good many months now and my overnight incremental has "only" been busted twice by a power failure.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Power Failures (XP SP3)

    Al,
    A quick reply (and I don't use scheduled tasks as you do), may have to come back. Isn't this solved in schedule tasks with entering a password for the task? The task will then run such as if it had "the status" of that user.

    Under Advanced settings, when finishing the setup of a new task "Show advanced after ...", or right-click a task, there is a check box (added in SP2?) "Run only if I am logged on" or something similar. But that is I guess for the case when the creator is an Admin and one perhaps don't want something running if a non admin member is logged on, or, as way to not add the password since if it runs only when logged on, there is no use for password for the task.

    Not your question, about scheduled tasks but:
    In my BIOS (AMI) I have under APM configuration a setting: "Restore on AC Power Loss". The default here is "Power Off"; other settings are "Power On" and "Last State".

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Power Failures (XP SP3)

    Hey, thanks for the stimulus <big>JohnČ</big> ( <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> ) - I checked the BIOS and it IS a choice in the power management in there. Thanks again...

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Power Failures (XP SP3)

    Thanks to you too, Argus! Yes, now I know that my BIOS reads exactly as yours does. I'll have to check Shadow Protect tomorrow when I do my weekly images as that's where I do the scheduling, not with the OS, and I don't remember if there is a question about which user. I'll check tomorrow morning. Thanks...

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Power Failures (XP SP3)

    Added:
    No, the setting is for critical errors (as Rebel and BATcher says, and I think you know), and the default is to restart, since if only a glitch that never comes back, the common user is more helped with a restart, or something similar is the idea behind.

    But even if nothing to do with a power loss, it DOES have some bearing on your question: since if a restart is done: it will, if everything goes well stop at the Welcome screen, as in your mentioned example. And thus your question about scheduled tasks.

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Power Failures (XP SP3)

    PS I don't have an APC as I've never felt the need because of the low occurrence of power failures.

    You are very lucky to have a dependable power source. I can count on losing power a couple times a month. After losing a system early on in my "computering" days because of power instability issues, I made sure to purchase a battery back up unit! It is worth its weight in gold <as they say!> <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Power Failures (XP SP3)

    Hi BigAl,

    Allow me to sneak in a "hardware" response to your software message. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    It's not only power failures (read blackouts) that can cause problems, but also brownouts. In my area of the woods, blackouts are very rare. However, brownouts are another issue. Here's a snapshot of my APC's software report taken a few moments ago. It shows the phrase "blackout" but as can be seen from the time outage, they are really brownouts.

    Cheers, Bob
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Regards,
    Bob

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Power Failures (XP SP3)

    Boy, I didn't realize how lucky we are here in my part of the world, i.e. Kentucky Utilities! You and Skitterbug have more power problems than I EVER have around here. But, in spite of my good fortune, I know that I should consider adding some protection. One of these days, I'll get a "round toit" as they say...

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Power Failures (XP SP3)

    I'm really surprised at your power problems, Bob. Isn't there an OPG nuclear generating plant right in your back yard (Pickering)?

    Anyway, I'd be a little leery of the APC stats. Mine show no activity for the last 24 weeks, but I know I've had some bumps in that time frame.

    I don't know much about electricity, but I thought brownouts were undervoltages and overvoltages were spikes. Am I wrong?

    Cheers,
    Regards,
    PaulB

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Power Failures (XP SP3)

    Hi Paul,

    I'll have to sneak this "hardware" response through and hope BigAl doesn't rap me knuckles for pirating the thread <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>.

    Yes we do have an OPG nuclear plant a few kilometers away and they do supply reliable power. I suspect that there is something in our sub-division, or even our house that causes the glitches. I know it is not a failing of the APC reporting software because I can be working away and the UPS under the desk will sound its alarm as it goes into backup mode and then restores itself seconds later. My spouse has a like APC UPS and she also experiences what I have called brownouts (probably should be called "dropouts"). I have not compared my system's reporting to her's. One of these days, when she allows me, I'll check to see if her power outage counts are the same as mine.

    Regardless, of blackout, brownout or dropout, I feel comfortable knowing that the UPS is protecting my system.

    Cheers, Bob
    Regards,
    Bob

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Power Failures (XP SP3)

    I agree. I like having a UPS security blanket.

    Cheers,
    Regards,
    PaulB

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Power Failures (XP SP3)

    It's not sneakin' at all! Right in the "alley" that I occasionally have to deal with. As I said earlier, getting a UPS is just one of those long put off items on my to do list and one of these days, when I get a:
    <IMG SRC=http://www.alhoffman.org/smileys/Misc/Round-Toit.gif>

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •