Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    TEMP folder not available? (Home Premium)

    Yesterday I had some problems with Acrobat Reader, so I went to re-install it.

    I couldn't. I got some error about my drive being full or my TEMP folder being inaccessible.

    It came out of "nowhere." My drive has about 150gigs available, and I was running the install as administrator. I couldn't find the problem, so I just went back to a disk backup and restored the backup.

    What could that have been?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: TEMP folder not available? (Home Premium)

    I have seen a similar problem installing Acrobat when there are lots and lots of files in the temp folder, deleting every filie in %TEMP%, except for the ones that are open and can't be deleted, fixed it for me.

    StuartR

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: TEMP folder not available? (Home Premium)

    Ah.

    Thanks Stuart.

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: TEMP folder not available? (Home Premium)

    And it's not unique to Vista either. I've had messages like that in XP as well although not for quite some time. Try Stuart's thing of dumping as many "temp" folder files as you can find. I say that in light of the fact that there ARE more than one "temp" folders hiding around on our drives!

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: TEMP folder not available? (Home Premium)

    Yeah, thanks Al.

    Isn't there a way to get all the "temp" folders consolidated? I thought there was/is a variable just for that purpose?

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: TEMP folder not available? (Home Premium)

    No, not really. You have a personal Temp folder, then there is a shared Windows temp folder, and some applications don't use either of these, but create their own Temp folders.

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: TEMP folder not available? (Home Premium)

    Well, that, as they say, sucks.

    Oh well.

    Thanks Hans.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: TEMP folder not available? (Home Premium)

    The one Stuart mentioned with the percent signs around it is the "environment variable" of which you speak. If you open a command prompt window and type "SET" and press enter, you will see all the environment variables that are in place on your system. Again, the one Stuart referenced is the primary one that most software uses to store junk that should be cleaned up when the software is finished. Unfortunately, that doesn't always happen. In addition, there are MANY, MANY other folders with "temp" in their name and they can reside all over your hard drive. I've rebooted from Vista to XP now, but just for reference, I did a search for "temp" on my C: drive and there are 80+ folders that have that in their names. The vast majority of them don't have to cause you concern. That's why I echo Stuart's suggestion to go after the one in Windows and empty it to see what happens afterward.

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: TEMP folder not available? (Home Premium)

    In a way sort of; one can have environment variables set for different but point them to one. In the old days one could see something like this in autoexec.bat:

    SET TEMP=C:WINDOWSTEMP
    SET TMP=C:WINDOWSTEMP

    Back to now; I happen to have moved my "Document and settings" temp folder, i.e. the user specific, to some other partition (or more precise; I created a folder named Temp on another partition, the original is left in my profile), and created two variables that point to that folder.

    However, I WOULD NOT try to merge all and use variables etc. All kinds of odd things could perhaps happen (programs not noticing the variable looking at the original place etc), and for most people there are only the user specific mentioned and one at Windows (plus eventually the once made by some programs as Hans mentioned). (OK there are "dummy" temp folders at other places also.)

    So, my user specific temp folder gets heavy use, but the WindowsTemp (or equivalent in Vista) only gets some small use (Zone Alarm etc).
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: TEMP folder not available? (Home Premium)

    Thanks Doc.

    " rebooted from Vista to XP now"?

    Dual-boot, or are you reverting? If so, how come?
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: TEMP folder not available? (Home Premium)

    Thanks Argus.

    I remember the autoexec commands too. Ah, the simple days!

    You brought up another point, the "Document and settings" folder.

    I understand, I think, that Vista has shortcuts defined to allow backward-compatibility.

    Strangely though:

    As one part of my backup, I copy all the files (ALL) from my C drive to an external drive. When I do, my outlook.pst file, instead of moving over in the "C:UsersCWBillowAppDataLocalMicrosoftOutlook" folder, gets copied to "Iocuments and SettingsCWBillowLocal SettingsApplication DataMicrosoftOutlook".

    Why would it do that?

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: TEMP folder not available? (Home Premium)

    Why all the extraneous chatter about emptying "temp" files? Gadzooks...... just run "CCleaner" and then "Disk Cleanup" for a thorough cleaning and be done with it. <IMG SRC=http://www.the-highway.com/Smileys/Ponder.gif> Between those two utilities the majority of temp files should be removed and rectify the problem.

    Personally, I run both faithfully each evening before retiring since I have a system backup scheduled for 3:00 am and don't want any unnecessary garbage included in the backup.
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: TEMP folder not available? (Home Premium)

    Chuck,
    Stepping up to the plate for Al and answering your question, he does indeed Dual Boot XP and Vista as do I.

    Temp files?.Means just that. Temporary. Anything over a day old or not being in use can be safely dumped.
    As Pilgrim said, use CCleaner to get rid of all that extra baggage in the temp folders.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: TEMP folder not available? (Home Premium)

    Oh PLEASE don't beat me Jeff! I promise to run it as well...

    But I DO like to know where my errors are coming from, and the message box didn't say "Clean out your TEMP files", it said I didn't have prier rights. It does seem OK, now.

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: TEMP folder not available? (Home Premium)

    Bob:

    Yeah, I have CCleaner...I guess I just didn't think THAT was the issue!

    I've thought about dual-booting. I sometimes think the Vista seems slower on my (now a year old) 3.2g machine, than XP did on my 1.4.

    Thanks,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •