Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Adobe Acrobat 8 and IE7

    This could also be an IE issue, but decided to post it here first. Feel free to move it to IE if deemed appropriate.

    I have a problem that is driving me batty. I suspect it is a Sympatico type problem but cannot find any reference to it in the Sympatico tech forums.

    If you answer NO to any of the following questions, just delete this message and have a great day!!!

    1. Do you run with Internet Explorer v7 (with all current updates)?
    2. Do you have Adobe Acrobat Professional v8.1.2 installed?
    3. Is your operating system Windows XP or Windows Vista?

    If you answered YES to all three of those questions, then I would like you to test something for me… if you feel comfortable with the task. If not comfortable, then delete this message and get on with reading the rest of your e-mail.

    OK, here’s the situation. When Acrobat is installed it also installs add-ons to various products like MS Office, IE7 and other apps. In all cases, with the exception of IE7, the add-on is fully functional.

    The Acrobat add-on icon in IE7 should always be “active”. Clicking on this icon allows the creation of a PDF file reflecting the contents of the web page with all links preserved as hyperlinks.

    In my environment, the icon is active for all sites except my home page of: http://sympatico.msn.ca/

    At first, I thought it might be a “home-page” issue. I have replaced http://sympatico.msn.ca/ as my home page with any site, say http://www.wopr.com/cgi-bin/w3t/wwwthreads.pl. The problem still persists with http://sympatico.msn.ca/ showing the Acrobat add-on as inactive whereas the “new” Home Page is showing the add-on as active.

    Now for those astute readers that might suggest that I should use the File | Print | Adobe PDF feature, fergetaboutit. That feature doesn’t work and is documented as a problem at many tech forums.

    So, here comes the request for you to test the scenario on your beast.

    Click on the http://sympatico.msn.ca/ link, select Tools from the menu line, then Internet Options and under the General Tab, click on the Use Current button under the Home Page section. Then click on Apply, OK and close down IE7. Then reload IE7.

    Does your Acrobat icon show as active or inactive?

    P.S. Before changing your Home Page link, please save the link so you can reset your Home Page to your desired selection when the test is complete.

    Thanks for your help in this matter.

    Cheers, Bob
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Regards,
    Bob

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat 8 and IE7

    Just an update... in my original post I stated: "Now for those astute readers that might suggest that I should use the File | Print | Adobe PDF feature, fergetaboutit. That feature doesn’t work and is documented as a problem at many tech forums..

    With the release of the recent update v8.1.3 of Adobe Acrobat, I can now use the File | Print | Adobe PDF feature.

    However, the original issue of not being able to create a PDF file of my home page using the add-on icon is still an outstanding problem.

    Oh, such is my poor miserable life!!! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Cheers, Bob
    Regards,
    Bob

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat 8 and IE7

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by DaveA on 07-Nov-08 09:54. )</P>I just visited your site and YES, I to loose the active icon to a inactive icon.
    It must be some setting at the web site that is blocking use of Adobe.

    Edit.
    I just went to the MSN home page and even Google home page, they are blocking the use of Adobe.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat 8 and IE7

    I have no idea how this feature works -- I don't have Acrobat, although I suppose there might be a trial version I could test -- but I have a thought. Could it be that this feature only works on pages that allow caching? Often dynamic pages (.pl, .php, .asp, etc.) are sent with headers that instruct the browser not to cache them. In that case, perhaps, the add-in would recognize that it might not have the complete contents of the page on disk, and therefore disables itself. Just a guess.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat 8 and IE7

    Thanks for testing the Sympatico web site for me Dave. Now I know it's not just me!!! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    I just visited two of the Google sites, COM and CA, and both are working OK with the Adobe icon set to active. Likewise for the MSN site. Now it is your turn to feel frustrated! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    P.S. did you update to v8.1.3? If not, have you tried the File | Print | Adobe PDF feature?

    Cheers, Bob
    Regards,
    Bob

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat 8 and IE7

    Interesting thought about the cache.

    Would using the View Source feature in the IE7 browser identify the type of dynamic page or header? I just tried the View Source command on my home page and not sure what to look for.

    Cheers, Bob
    Regards,
    Bob

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat 8 and IE7

    As far as I know, Adobe Reader 10 isn't out yet - at least not officially. The version currently offered is 9 - see screenshot below (it's for Windows XP but the same holds for Windows Vista)
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: png x.png (8.7 KB, 0 views)

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat 8 and IE7

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by DaveA on 10-Nov-08 09:51. Corrected version 10 to 9, as I enterd the wrong version [smile])</P>I am now running Version 9 of Adobe Reader but have Adobe Acrobat distiller 6 also installed.

    I found out that if I visit your link it tweaks my system so I get the inactive icon at some sites until I shut down IE and then fire it back up.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat 8 and IE7

    Hans,
    You are correct I have 9 NOT 10.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •