Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Can't connect

  1. #1
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Can't connect

    Sorry I have very llimited knowledge of the the problem apart from

    "Uncle Jerry, my laptop can't connect to the internet although mum's PC does!"

    Yes, an emergency telephone from my niece whose laptop has "suddenly" stopped connecting to the router. When she logs on her laptop shows that it is trying to connect via Wireless Connection and it is seen to search for the Network and then fails with the yellow triangle and black splat mark.

    Trying to assist her over a telephone was quite difficult as her mum (darling sister of mine) had forgotten the admin password for the router.
    We were able to ping the router (192.168.0.1) and get a response back (does that mean the laptop is able to "see" the router). She has now got the IP address of the laptop and I have asked her to chivvy her Mum into remembering the router password and for her to have a look at the settings to see if the laptop is a Connected Device.

    Running out of ideas as no new avenues are opening up to me! Is there something I am missing or could it be a laptop setting that has gone askew, she promises me she has not installed or changed any settings, apparently it was working, she went for a cup of tea and came back and it wasn't working!
    Jerry

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Griffith, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    507
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't connect

    Jezza,

    Agreed that troubleshooting over the phone is no fun (not as much fun as my scooter, anyway)

    Yes, if you can ping the router then the network adapter can see the router.

    If your sister has not changed the default password then there is a fair chance that the user name is admin and so is the password.

    Have you asked her to reboot the laptop to see if it picks up the network?

    Johanna

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't connect

    Thanks Joh

    Sadly lil' sis has changed the account password but thinking about it she may have been thinking of her NT/Home account password and not the router's <img src=/S/drop.gif border=0 alt=drop width=23 height=23>

    The poor girl has rebooted a load of times and it is still broken and askes her to repair it, she has tried that and it still doesn't work. So to recap

    1) Getting a ping back means the laptop is seen by the router

    So the problem sounds like it is inside the router <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15> Do you think it is worth trying to talk her through creating a new Wireless Network Connection?
    Jerry

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't connect

    Jerry,
    There may be a few possibilities. If she can ping the router, then the wireless connection between the laptop and the router is working. If your sister can still connect to the net, then it's just your niece's computer that's being blocked. I would first try to create a new wireless connection from the laptop. If WEP or WPA security is enabled on the router, then she will have to know the network name and the password in order to connect.

    If this doesn't work, then it's possible that the router has lost its configuration (and the settings to allow your niece to connect). This sometimes happens (at least to me) with even the briefest of power interruptions. Most routers have the capability to save a configuration file, and then to restore it if necessary. If your sister did save the configuration file, then it's a simple matter to restore it. HOWEVER, she has to enter the router setup to do this. If she has password protected the router and she can't remember the password, she may have to totally reset the router to the default factory configuration (which will then reset the password to the usual "admin") and then re-enter the complete setup again. There is usually a "reset" button somewhere on the router.

    Hope this helps a bit.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't connect

    Thanks John

    That sounds like a plan and makes sense, I just hope my sister saved the cfg file but I am not holding her to it......like the password <img src=/S/hairout.gif border=0 alt=hairout width=31 height=23>
    Jerry

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't connect

    I wonder if the DNS entries have been fouled up on the notebook. If you can talk them through it, have them check that the problem notebook is either accepting DNS from the router via DHCP, OR, try setting up known working DNS entries, such as those available from http://www.opendns.org.
    Christopher Baldrey

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Griffith, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    507
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't connect

    Sorry it has taken me a while to get back to you.

    I have also found the diagnostic tool in IE7 to be quite useful as well. Fire up IE7 and when it cannot make a connection, there is an option to troubleshoot or diagnose connection issues.

    I recently had a couple of machines where the socks layer 'stuff' was corrupted.

    Johanna

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Can't connect

    Being wireless are you and is she sure that she is trying to connect to HER router?
    I have seen many times when there are more than one signal, that the user is trying to connect to someone else's router.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't connect

    Good Call Dave, but one we/she have investigated but it is worth a try as next door may have hidden theirs. I am popping over tonight so it may be a bit easier to diagnose
    Jerry

  10. #10
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,420
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts

    Re: Can't connect

    Some ISPs who have had bitter experience with incompetent users wrecking perfectly good wireless routers now send out an accompanying Installation CD, one of whose functions to to "Set Up Wireless Connection". Maybe they have one of these?

    With regard to (default) router passwords, ask her what make she has and do some Googling. Alternatively, if its IP address is 192.168.0.1 the most common possibilities are Netgear and D-Link, user name being admin, and default password being password or nothing, respectively.

    Why not try CrossLoop at both ends, so you can remote control the PC and thus inspect the router?
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  11. #11
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't connect

    Hi there

    Just checked with her again and it appears that her mum was putting in her Windows username and password and the admin/password combo is in current usage. I am going over tonight and have a dabble...I shall report back
    Jerry

  12. #12
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't connect

    Well that was an eventful evening, snow /sleet falling in Deepest Darkest Kent......in October!

    After checking her laptop thoroughly I think we can safely say it is a hardware issue. Being that the laptop is very old, rather battered and with keys missing from the board I loaded up my NetGear card and it connected instantly.

    Said niece will be dispatched to PC World tomorrow to purchase a WiFi dongle...thanks for all your assistance, this will probably the quickest and efficient method to allow her to get her psychology essay completed
    Jerry

  13. #13
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,420
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts

    Re: Can't connect

    <hr>Said niece will be dispatched to PC World tomorrow to purchase a WiFi dongle<hr>
    Rather her than me! Knowing PC World they will probably try to sell her a USB Flash Drive, or an ethernet patch cable, or one of them new-fangled diskette thingies...! <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •