Star Lounger
    Thanks

Identify the Max and compare with the deadlines (2003)

I have the following columns in a query. I want to create another query using the data from this original query. My goal is to find the latest time for each endpoint for each company. There are two deadlines..a 9:30 AM and a 9:50 AM so any time after 9:50 would be considered "Late", any time after 9:30 would be considered "Last", all others are "Prior".
    So far this is what I have, I added a column for an Expr1 to extract the time by using the MID function but when I tried to add another Expr for the target time it would not accept the 9:30 AM. Could anyone give me an advice/suggestion on how to go about this??

A. 10/14/2008 3:39:35 AM
    B. Company Name
    C. End points (there are 2-4 endpoints for each company and each endpoints can have multiple delivery times)

Please explain it in layman's terms since I am very new to Access.
    Thank you in Advance

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Identify the Max and compare with the deadlines (2003)

You can do this using two queries. I have attached a sample database that illustrates this approach.

The first query is a totals query that groups by company and endpoint and returns the maximum date/time for each. This query is named qry1_MaxDateTime in the sample database.
    The second query is based on the first one. It calculates the time component of the maximum date/time by subtracting the integer part. I have called this calculated field T.
    This is compared to the deadlines in another calculated field:

Score: IIf(<!t>[T]>#12/30/1899 9:50:0#,"Late",IIf(<!t>[T]>#12/30/1899 9:30:0#,"Last","Prior"))

This query is named qry2_CompareToDeadlines.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Star Lounger
    Thanks

Thank you the quick response Hans!! I'll give it a try. bedankt!

Star Lounger
    Thanks