Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    NY, NY, USA
    Posts
    654
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Word macros are listed but non Function (Word 2003)

    I had to reinstall office 2003 ,* All works but word, and word now loads too fast!! Main problem is that although I can see all my usual macros in Tools Macros but None will work or can be found when I either hit edit or runSecurity settings low, nothing is disabled.I can open up the visual basic editor but can't seem to find where my macros have gone
    And when I go to the organizer I don't see any macros listed!!!Any help appreciatedJerome

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Word macros are listed but non Function (Word 2003)

    Did you store your "usual macros" in Normal.dot?
    Try to find out where Normal.dot is and then make sure that it is in the "User Templates" location specified in the File Locations tab of Tools | Options...
    You can also right-click Normal.dot (if you can find it) and select Open from the right-click menu, to see if the macros become available.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    NY, NY, USA
    Posts
    654
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word macros are listed but non Function (Word 2003)

    HansI see the names when I open tools/options/ macros, but can't run them or edit them.If I get visual basic to open can't seem to find them, can't always get visual basic to open. I have tried repair of word and no change
    WHAT IS INTERESTING IF I TRY TO RECORD A NEW MACRO AND/ OR CREATE ONE IT WILL NOT LET ME. I think it is a problem with visual basic not getting created correctly or impeded from working. There are office 2007 files on the computer still that got copied over to the new hard drive but I am using 2003 as I hate 2007 maybe the 2007 files remaining on the computer or messing with the install of 2003 basic???
    I checked security and it is low ie macros enabled, no add ins or disabled.Some how it is not loading visual basic or somehow the macros did not get copied overI opened normal.dot directly in word and again can't seem to find the macros under the organizer just the names, auto text etc are all there and the menu items on the main word screen ie the user icons that I added to reference the macros are there.Not certain what word is not seeing or what visual basic is not loading. Also seem to have a similar problem in Excel but have not fully explored this yetThanksJerome

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Word macros are listed but non Function (Word 2003)

    Have you tried using "Detect and repair..." from the Word help menu. This may be able to help if you have incompatible file versions.

    StuartR

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    NY, NY, USA
    Posts
    654
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word macros are listed but non Function (Word 2003)

    yes no good
    When looking at the error logs like in excel. says I have lost visual basic projects. Any way of copying these over from one normal dot to another and one personal.xls to another???? Just copying the files from the backup or a similar laptop that I travel with does not seem to work with the new hard drive on this "new machine/install".
    Thanks
    Jerome

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Word macros are listed but non Function (Word 2003)

    Do you have a copy of Normal.DOT that you can open to see your projects? If not then there is no point in trying to copy them.

    It sounds to me like something drastic has gone wrong with your installation, probably related to whatever you did with Office 2007 at some time in the past. If you can't fix this with detect and repair, you can try deinstalling all versions of Office and reinstalling Office 2003. If that doesn't work then I think you might have to start again with a clean install of Windows.

    StuartR

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    NY, NY, USA
    Posts
    654
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word macros are listed but non Function (Word 2003)

    I have a copy of normal.dot that I can see all the visual basic projects on, but only if I open it on another computer. If I copy the same file onto my computer can't seem to see the projects in the visual basic editor. Says no open projects
    Any thoughts
    jerome

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Word macros are listed but non Function (Word 2003)

    I agree with Stuart. Your Office installation appears to be thoroughly messed up.
    - Make a backup of files such as Normal.dot and Personal.xls that you want to keep.
    - Uninstall Office 2003, then make sure that all traces of Office 2003 and 2007 are gone.
    - Reinstall Office 2003.
    If that doesn't work, you may have to reinstall Windows from scratch.

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    NY, NY, USA
    Posts
    654
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word macros are listed but non Function (Word 2003)

    Hans and Stuart
    I have tried everything and anything and gave up. Installed 2007 again and that appears to work so far. It is interesting that Micrososft office from Microsoft is the main program that is hugely problematic with a Vista new install and with Vista new securty patches.
    I give up on 2003 trying to get it to work on the new Vista that IBM installed on the new hard drive. Nothing gels correctly. BUT I SORELY MISS GETTING ENVELOPER FROM WOPR TO WORK, i managed to jury rig it on office 2003, Would love to get some kind of compatable program like wopr OR Add more Functionality ie different return addresses to select from on the included envelpe print from office 2007
    Thanks again
    Jerome

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Word macros are listed but non Function (Word 2003)

    We have Office 2007 on two laptops and Office 2003 on 2 desktop, all are running Vista. They all installed and run just like they do on XP.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    NY, NY, USA
    Posts
    654
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word macros are listed but non Function (Word 2003)

    Well I just received a new hard drive with the very latest vista because it looks different than the vista I had from 1 year ago from IBM. I tried to transfer settings and tried to restore the hard drive. And nothing would work, no matter how many times i repaired, reinstalled, deleted and reinstalled and rewrote the hard drive.
    Enjoy the fact that it works as mine used to because the next new hard drive that you get with all the new vista whistes and bells may not be amenable to 2003.
    I wish you only the best and none of the nightmare that I have had
    Jerome

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Word macros are listed but non Function (Word 2003)

    Are these by chance company machines and they (IT) are providing a new image on this new drive?

    I have been using Vista since early Beta and the interface has NOT changed. I am sure that you are getting a VERY customized version and is NOT what Microsoft released as the default.

    What is so different between the two different versions that you have had to deal with?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    NY, NY, USA
    Posts
    654
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word macros are listed but non Function (Word 2003)

    Just looks and feels different than what originally came with the machine 1 year ago. A lot of interface subtle changes.Jerome

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •