Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Missing Noscript Menu (Firefox 2.9.0.17)

    I updated Noscript today to version 1.8.4.1. This seems to have been a mistake as now when I right-click the noscript button half the menu is missing. I can get all the menu if I resize the browser window to less than full screen before clicking but this is a real nuisance. Has anyone else had this problem. Is there any solution?

    Thanks,

    Chris (Hunt)

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Noscript Menu (Firefox 2.9.0.17)

    Works OK here on Firefox 3.0.3 - is there a reason you aren't updating to version 3?

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Missing Noscript Menu (Firefox 2.9.0.17)

    If it persists after restarting Firefox, try reporting the problem at http://noscript.net/. He updates NoScript all the time and a fix should not be too long coming.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Noscript Menu (Firefox 2.9.0.17)

    <hr>Works OK here on Firefox 3.0.3 - is there a reason you aren't updating to version 3?<hr>

    Yes, I heard copy and paste from version 3 doesn't work properly with CorelDraw. Last time I looked there was no theme I liked (I loathe the big back button) and I don't know whether all the extensions I use have been updated. Wasn't keen on the address bar search thing either. I've tried version 3 twice so far and gone back to version 2 quickly both times.

    Chris

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Noscript Menu (Firefox 2.9.0.17)

    Thanks for the suggestion. Someone in one of the GRC forums came up with an answer. Left-click on the button and that solves the problem with the right-click dialogue. Very odd but it worked.

    Chris

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Noscript Menu (Firefox 2.9.0.17)

    <hr>(I loathe the big back button)<hr>
    Did we not deal with this <!post=issue,730936>issue<!/post> before?

    Cheers,
    Regards,
    PaulB

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Noscript Menu (Firefox 2.9.0.17)

    Hi Paul, I don't want small icons - I just don't want a big back button. Having said this, it seems that Stratastripe is out of beta now. So this reason for not upgrading no longer applies. Still, until Firefox 3 works with CorelDraw there's no point in upgrading.

    Cheers,

    Chris

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Noscript Menu (Firefox 2.9.0.17)

    Chris,

    I know how you feel. It seems that each new update to FF introduces a new annoyance or breaks a prior feature. I'm still using FF 3.0 as every update since FF 3.0.1 has broken Windows focus rules. I hope they fix this in FF 3.1.

    Cheers,
    Regards,
    PaulB

  9. #9
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Missing Noscript Menu (Firefox 2.9.0.17)

    What's the problem with CorelDraw? Is it the general problem that pasting into various applications does not always carry over formatting? In particular, formatting applied through a style sheet (outside the selection) may be ignored. I'm not sure whether that is scheduled to be improved.

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Noscript Menu (Firefox 2.9.0.17)

    Isn't using FF 3.0 rather risky - the latest update 3.04 is supposed to close 9 security holes, four critical including one that allows a buffer overflow attack. Having said this I don't know that 2.0.0.18 is any safer.

    Cheers,

    Chris

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Noscript Menu (Firefox 2.9.0.17)

    Hi, I think it was worse than no-formatting - rather copy and paste is completely impossible. I don't have current details though, and I've not tried it myself - just something I read about in the CorelDraw newsgroups.

    Chris

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Noscript Menu (Firefox 2.9.0.17)

    Hi again, I can confirm that copying and pasting bitmaps into CorelDraw doesn't work with Firefox 3.04. Photopaint is OK. The problem may well be with Corel rather than with Firefox but then Firefox 2 is OK so I'm not sure exactly where the problem lies.

    Chris

  13. #13
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Missing Noscript Menu (Firefox 2.9.0.17)

    Perhaps someone with a "clipboard spy" type program can see the difference. I'm pretty sure the casual observer would not be able to tell. <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15>

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Noscript Menu (Firefox 2.9.0.17)

    You're probably right, Chris. I'm now using FF 3.0.4 for the sake of security, but it also displays the infuriatingly maddening Windows focus problem.

    Cheers,
    Regards,
    PaulB

  15. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Noscript Menu (Firefox 2.9.0.17)

    Hi Paul, what is the problem exactly, I've not heard of it.

    Thanks,

    Chris

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •