Thread: OOPS (VB/VBA)

2 Star Lounger
    Thanks

OOPS (VB/VBA)

I have tried to wrap my mind around OOPS. All I get in everything I see is a run around using big words that tell you little. I was a mainframe programmer and wrote COBOL. The COBOL programs I wrote were poor, until I wrote some BAL. Since this is next to machine language, I learned a lot. When I went back to COBOL, I started to look at the PMAP generated by the COBOL generator. It showed the BAL instructions my COBOL code was generating. I found that reading it gave my great insight and I started to produce much better COBOL programs. So what I would like to know, is there any books out there that show what assembler code is generated when one tries to write OOPS?????
    Sarge

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: OOPS (VB/VBA)

I very much doubt you'll find such a book, and I don't think it would be that helpful. Object-oriented programminginserts so many layers between the code that you write and the machine code that is eventually generated by the compiler that a few lines of code may generate thousands upon thousands of machine instructions.

The whole idea of object-oriented programming is to hide large chunks of functionality in "objects" so that you don't have to worry about what goes on under the hood. I suspect that compared with the lean-and-mean assembler code we wrote in the past, the machine code produced by an object-oriented compiler is hopelessly complicated. But that doesn't matter because the hardware we have now is incredibly more powerful than what we had to work with then.

If you want to get into object-oriented programming it might be a good idea to attend a training course; a good trainer/teacher can make the subject "live" much more than a book or online tutorial.

Thanks